I installed Windows7 RC from within Vista, is this OK

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by yugmot, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. yugmot

    yugmot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI, Newbie to the forum here.
    I could not get my Mesh PC to boot up from CD ( Yes I Did alter my BIOS) to install Windows 7 RC.
    I had already created a New Simple Volume ready for my new Dual Boot System.
    I am running Vista Home Premium.
    After several restarts without success, I thoufght I would just try and install the new O/S from within Vista, directing Win 7 set up to install in to my new volume,
    I now have a dual boot system with both operating systems working perfectly.
    I am just an amatuer who likes trying out things. can a Techie guy or girl advise if I will come accross any problems loading Win7 in this way?

    Thanks for any info on this subject.

    Steve
     
  2. PcBoyGeorge

    PcBoyGeorge Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    5
    This is perfectly ok. I did it too since i was out of cds. No problems at all. Have fun using windows 7 :D
     
  3. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    I had the same problem. I had to install from XP. Works great for me. Since then I have removed XP altogether. W7 is sweet.
     
    #3 stueycaster, Jun 22, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...