I want to open two instances of explorer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by anykey, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello folks, my big concern is about what I still call File Manager or Windows Explorer.
    I am used to opening Explorer using WinKey+E.
    Yeah that still works but I like two instances open and I tile them side by side.
    I cannot do that now I have Win7.
    Or can I..??
     
  2. ups

    ups New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    A right click on the taskbar still gives you the option to "Show Windows Side by side"

    Just make sure that they are the only visible windows
     
  3. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks ups.
     
  4. kharmapolizei

    kharmapolizei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also drag to them to the left and ride side, respectively.
     
  5. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am still having trouble opening a second instance of Explorer.
    I can dock one window left or right (Winkey+arrow)
    But I cannot open a second window.

    Plus sorry to say, when I right click I do not get "Show Windows Side by side"

    I am not having much luck with this issue...
     
  6. ups

    ups New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure that after you open the first window, you navigate away from the librarie. It seems that you cannot have 2 windows showing the same folder.

    And to access the "Show Windows Side By Side" you have to right click on an empty space of the taskbar.
     
  7. BlackWolf

    BlackWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    9
    you never could open two windows showing the same folder.

    nonetheless, you can simply open a new window with strg+n

    regards
     
  8. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    We seem to be getting there.
    I found the "side by side" by clicking on an empty space - thanks for that tip, ups.
    But still couldn't get second pane.
    Then tried, right click on the Explorer task bar icon, and selected Windows Explorer.
    That brought up the second instance. At last.
    Very fiddly. Not intuitive at all.
    Thanks for your help ups.

    Sorry BlackWolf, I don't understand strg+n.
     
    #8 anykey, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  9. ups

    ups New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    In windows XP there is no problem in having two explorer windows showing the same folder.

    Strg+n?
     
  10. BlackWolf

    BlackWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    9
    lol I'm sorry ... didn't think about what I was writing.
    strg is the german "version" of crtl, that's all :p so crtl+n brings up a new windows
     
  11. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ha ha, nevermind. I laughed :p
     
  12. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    to open up one windows explorer you press the (win + e) key. Then once you have that windows explorer open and you are focused on it all you need do is hit (Ctrl + N) to open another instance of it. Hopefully this helps you out.
     
  13. kharmapolizei

    kharmapolizei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also click in on the taskbar icon of the explorer with the middle mouse button (wheel), assuming you have one.
     
  14. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah I read that somewhere too - it doesn't work for me.
    Although wheel clicks in other apps do work.

    Fiddly but Winkey+e, Winkey+arrow>, Ctrl+n, Winkey+arrow< works. Hooray :razz:
    Thank you so much one and all for your help and assistance.
     
    #14 anykey, Jan 17, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...