Installing Windows 7 OEM on a different PC

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Leo, Feb 9, 2015.

  1. Leo

    Leo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,
    A few years ago I purchased Windows 7 OEM and installed it on my laptop. Now I am thinking of buying a new laptop. I was told that OEM version can be installed only on one computer. Is that right? If so, maybe there is a way to somehow deactivate it on my current laptop and then install on the new one, so that it would still run only on one computer?
     
  2. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    OEM are tied to the PC, you might be able to convince MS to activate via phone but not likely. If it were a desktop sometime if the motherboard go's bad they will allow you reactivate, but on a laptop slim chance.
     
  3. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Tricky. Like helpifIcan writes, OEM is tied to a certain computer, it's the backbone of the OS, sort of, making it cheaper than a "full version"... it's actually a marketing / sales method. Take a look at

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-windows_install/how-exactly-does-windows-7-retail-vs-oem/fae7b2ab-c530-45e6-aeb3-cc55cf7b9231

    I won't deal with the legal or copyright part, but I strongly advice you not to use any methods to get it running. Usually false rails lead to a dead end, causing more trouble than the joy was. Buy a retail version, it's legal even when purchased as used, but be sure to get some sort of a document from the seller that proves it isn't installed on any computers.

    Better a verst curved, than a span of hazard. - Finnish proverb.
     
    #3 Pauli, Feb 12, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2015
    Mike likes this.
  4. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    Under their licensing agreement it is not legal to do this. In case of error, here's the phone number for Windows product activation, including the automated service:

    https://support.microsoft.com/kb/326851/

    And information about OEM licensing:

    http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/sblicensing/Pages/licensing_faq.aspx

    Here's additional information for Windows activation and genuine Windows licensing:

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/genuine
     
    Pauli likes this.
  5. tbint

    tbint Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you read the licensing agreement you will find a work around. installation on a new pc. what makes a new pc. a new hard drive, or graphic card. I don't know. but you are only allowed to run it on one computer. so if you install it on a different pc. not running on the original installed pc anymore. it will not activate by internet. it will give you a number to call. follow the automated customer service prompts. after all the digits you enter it will ask you a question I answered truthfully. and they activated it. So MS will let you transfer
     
  6. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    318
    No... Microsoft "MAY" let you transfer it or they may not.
     
  7. tbint

    tbint Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes... Microsoft "MAY" let you transfer it. But it is up to MS. They give you the option to ask them. So MS will let you transfer...
     
  8. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Safe is safe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...