laptop windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by funnnyfarm, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. funnnyfarm

    funnnyfarm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    My new Toshiba laptop has Windows 7. When I go to "Computer" it has 3 Program Files , files (Program Files , Program Files (x86) , PROGRAM FILES (x86) (x86) ). What is up with that? How I noticed is I have "Topo 4.0" program and went to save what I did in the topo , and I recived an erro ,see attched. Got any ideas? Thanks funnnyfarm
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    You have C:\Program Files and Program Files (x86) because you have a 64 bit system,
    what is in the other program files folder? a screenshot would be nice ;)
    Try right clicking the Topo shortcut and selecting "Run As Administrator"
     
  3. funnnyfarm

    funnnyfarm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "PROGRAM FILES (x86) (x86)" file is PROGRAM FILES (x86) (x86)\COMMON FILES\PC TOOLS\"this folder is empty" . Nothing there for a screenshot. And I have show hidden files on. But the Run Administrator worked. Thanks funnnyfarm
     
  4. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    OK, it's probably safe to delete the folder then.
    Also, if you right click the shortcut and select "Properties" and then Click the "Compatibility" tab, you can check off a box that states "Run this program as an administrator" Which will make it always run as admin by default :)
     
  5. SKJoy2001

    SKJoy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you make a clean installation of the current operating system? I don't think so.
     
  6. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    "My new Toshiba laptop has Windows 7."
    Meaning it was a factory install :)
     
  7. funnnyfarm

    funnnyfarm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would,t let me do it there. I had to click on " Change Settings for All Users" just below Privileged Level . Just thought I let you know FYI. All works now Thanks funnnyfarm
     

Share This Page

Loading...