Minor problems with W7 RC...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by djwayne, May 7, 2009.

  1. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Excellent,

    ggad you got!!
     
  2. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yes I got it, it only took about 5 minutes to download it, and another minute to install it, so now I'm up to date, Thanks !!

    On the restart though, I had to force a shut off, as it hung up on the "shutting down" screen again.


    :)

    Update... I found the problem with NOD-32, the wrong username and password were marked on my installation cd. I double checked the registration letter and found a completely different name and password that worked, so now NOD-32 is happy for awhile.

    :D
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    COOL:cool:

    Yea djwayne, by the way I noticed you are the now user of the month. Congrats, but I sure wish they'd remove mine:rolleyes:
     
  4. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,705
    Likes Received:
    379
    Echoe the congrats part :D
     
  5. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    That was actually for the month of April.. We're still deciding on the Month of May's.. ;)
     
  6. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,705
    Likes Received:
    379
    Ah ok sorry :) My computer was high jacked by my 9 year old grandaughter so playing catchup this way ;)
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Radenight,

    Thanks for the clarification:)
     
  8. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,705
    Likes Received:
    379
    Hey you guys rock ty :D
     
  9. MSFT_GlenF

    MSFT_GlenF New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    djwayne,
    I am sorry to hear you are having a few issues with the Windows 7 R.C. I would highly recommend that you back up your data, and try a fresh install of the R.C. A.V.G. 8.5 is compatible with Windows 7, further I would also encourage you to make that you run the updates for 7.
    Thanks

    Glen@microsoft-springboard
     
  10. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    Like I said, I'm only having a couple of minor problems that seem to be getting resolved over time, but you have to remember, I'm on this computer about 12 hours a day with heavy usage, so a few minor problems here and there is peanuts to me. The rest of the time Windows 7 is working great.


    :)
     
  11. young88a

    young88a New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i dont usually post, but i read a lot this forum.

    About problems with RC, i dont have the issues mentioned in this post. I installed Avast AV and it works perfectelly.

    No problems with shutdown or IE, but im having problems with Windows Explorer crashing. Sometimes it crashes when i want to download a file and im browsing to the folder where i want to save it. Or one problem i could test few times, i copyed a folder with some files froma USB flash disk. Then i wanted to copy the same folder to a external HD, and explorer would always crash. Im using RC x64.

    I tested before Win 7 7000 (x64) and 7048 (x64) and never had any of this problems....

    What could this be?

    Thanks for reading
     
  12. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301

    Hi Dj.
    I have used Avast right through the Windows 7 testing, without a hiccup. Perhaps it was one of those u

    Your shutdown must , I think, have been hanging on the same glitch.nexplainable glitches!
    fwiw.
    I am sure most members know this very old trick, but you can force a quicker shutdown of Windows 7 (and even Vista) with a small reg edit:
    1. Open Regedit and locate the following folder: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control]
    2. Change the value of this key: WaitToKillServiceTimeout by clicking on it twice.
    3. By default WaitToKillServiceTimeout is set at 200000 milliseconds which are 20 seconds. If you change this value Windows 7 will commence shut down faster. Don’t lower the value to anything too extreme, otherwise your computer could face data loss and data corruption. I have always set mine to 3000, without problems so far.
     
  13. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    Thanks Davehc but it didn't work. My default was set at 12000, and I changed it to the 3,000 you recommended, but nothing changed, it still hangs up on the "shutting down.." page. Oh well....


    :)
     
  14. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Sorry to be a pest. I hate unsloved problems. I would go (almost) 100% for a graphics card problem. Have a prowl aroun the manufacturers site.
     
  15. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    I've already upgraded to the latest drivers as a couple of days ago, that helped to cure one problem, but that's it. Don't worry about it, I can live with it. Windows 7 is running so good for me that if this is the only problem I have, I will be happy.

    :)
     
  16. Ubuntero

    Ubuntero New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Avast is working for me but I am thinking sound would not until a driver for D audio will work, none yet, any help?:frown:
     
  17. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    Are you sure you have the sound default enabled correctly ?? That was a hidden problem I had at first but now fixed.

    Goto Contol Panel>Sounds>Playback, then select your soundcard and set default button, then hit Apply then Okay.



    :)
     
  18. Ubuntero

    Ubuntero New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to Control Panel/Sounds/Playback and got the answer - "No sound devices are installed" this means that Windows 7 do not recognize the sound card. I hope that there is a fix for this issue.

    Thanks, Ubuntero.


    Solved the problem. use the vista driver, let it upgrade itself and you are OK.
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=ob-51317-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=1843734&os=2093&lang=en
     

Share This Page

Loading...