Windows 8 My revised and updated thoughts about Windows 8.

zmechys

A few days ago, I started a new thread about Windows 8 OS called,
“After two weeks with Windows 8, I find it the least stable OS”.
http://windows8forums.com/windows-8...indows-8-i-find-least-stable-os-new-post.html

My opinion was based on my personal experience using Windows 8 during a two-week period.
During that time, I have had five “Refresh your PC”, one reset, and two “clean installations” of Windows 8 on two of my computers. I was very upset about the hours wasted/lost in order to refresh, reset, “clean install”, update, re-install other programs, etc…
Of course, I blamed Windows 8 and Microsoft for my debacle.

Right now, after receiving numerous replies and doing a lot of reading on Windows 8, I would like to rectify my opinion.

I’ve been using Avira as my choice of Antivirus for many years and on many computers with different Windows operating systems; therefore, I knew what do first, upon purchasing a Windows 8 computer – install AVIRA 2013 Antivirus. Within very few days, I had several crashes of Windows 8.
First time, I did not pay too much attention to the notes on the Blue screen, but after several crashes I decided to follow Microsoft’s recommendation and searched on-line for “"Bad_Pool_Header".
The Internet told me that the culprit was Avira AV.
“Currently, the Avira products are not ready for Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012 (Built on Windows 8).”
Windows 8 compatibility
Next step for me was very simple, if AVIRA could not join the “march of technological progress”, it must go.
(Just in case, I was able to uninstall Avira only in Safe Mode. Please be advised.)
I’ve been a “secret” fan of BitDefender for a long time and for that reason, I knew my next choice of AV was BitDefender. In order to avoid ANY COMPATIBILITY issues with Win 8, I’ve selected BitDefender Windows 8 Security Antivirus.