New Windows 8 PC Randomly Shutting Down

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by CoolDudeClan, Oct 6, 2013.

  1. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been monitoring the temperatures using Speccy, all very reasonable (CPU 30-35C, Mobo 28-35C)

    How can I check what is causing this problem? Does it report the error codes somewhere that caused the shut down?

    The CPU fan has been having a problem where every 10 minutes it spins up to full rev for 2 seconds and goes back down. I suspect this is related.
     
  2. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Just making sure no stones left unturned.....
    Have you checked the power options in regards to "when" to turn off display, when to shutdown etc etc.
    Also, have you checked the screensaver app, and see if it is enabled?
     
  3. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is a good point, just checked it and no shut down power option is currently set.
     
  4. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    What about the screensaver app?
     
  5. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not sure I know what you mean by the screensaver app. Is this something built into Windows 8?
     
  6. robinb9

    robinb9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it is built into windows- technically it is not an app
    right click on the desktop app away from any icons that are there
    left click on Personalize
    a box will open- at the far bottom right you will see Screen Saver
    Click on it and see what the settings say

    But I would not think that would be causing your computer to shut down
    What normally makes it shut down is a faulty power supply where it is not cooling off and the fan is not running
    Do you feel the fan blowing? if not then it could be getting very hot in the box and it is shutting down
    If this is the case because you said it is new- bring it back where you bought it or you might have to call the manufacturer
    most pcs/laptops are warrantied for a year
     
  7. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Right click at the desktop > select Personalize > bottom right, is there a Screensaver option?
    If yes, is it enabled?

    Right click at the desktop > select Personalize > bottom right, there is Screen Saver option.
    If it is enabled, it will say something under the " Screen Saver", such as Bubbles, Mystify etc etc.
    If it is disabled, it will say None.

    If it is enabled, click it > click the pointer under Screen saver heading > select None > click OK when done.
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You might check the Event Viewer (eventvwr.msc) to see if it shows any recurring errors or warnings. You might be able to pick out some type of pattern.

    Is this a laptop or a desktop, and if desktop, did you built it?
     
  9. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's a desktop and it is built, I've done a few without issue so I'm not sure what's wrong here.

    I checked the screensaver, nothing set, I don't think that'd be the problem of a shut down however.
     
  10. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Does it only shut down with running Windows? If you were to run the Live version of Ubuntu for a while, think it would make any difference?

    Power Supply seem adequate? A complete system description might help.
     
  11. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Haven't tried Ubuntu. I've never used it or installed it so I'm a little lost about that whole process.

    It's a Corsair Gold rated PSU with a lot of power to spare so I think it's okay too.

    I took a screenshot of the event viewer and the critical errors, would this provide any info?

    Thanks for everyones help, I appreciate it

    [​IMG]
     
  12. robinb9

    robinb9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it new memory? because sometimes old memory can cause a shutdown
    also is it paired correctly? some motherboards require you to pair the memory
     
  13. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I accidentally only ordered a one stick 8GB of RAM

    It is new though.

    I ran a memtest when I got it and no errors
     
  14. robinb9

    robinb9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are sure this is the correct memory fir this motherboard?
     
  15. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I am sure, I compatibility checked it a few times
     
  16. Medico

    Medico Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    65
    I would try to reseat everything. I would also check and/or replace the cooling gel between the CPU and heat sink. A Ram stick can cause all sorts of problems. What manufacturer Ram? At today's prices I might consider ordering a matched pair of Ram at whatever size you believe you need to replace the single stick you have.

    I was going to say send it back, but it's kind of difficult with a self built unit.
     
  17. robinb9

    robinb9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you need to follow medico and my advice especially about the memory, because some motherboards like it when there are matched pairs and not one stick and replace the cooling gel
     
  18. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay I will look into doing this. It's a least $60 or so because ram prices went up dramatically a few months ago. I didn't know having a single stick could cause problems.

    Could this potentially be causing it to shutoff? If it was would it be noted somewhere?
     
  19. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
    If you have verified there are no BSOD dump files. C:\Windows\MiniDump and C:\Windows\MEMORY.dmp then I would go into the event log > Windows Logs > System. Select Filter Current Log... check User32. If it's software related shutdown or restarts these logs will tell you what process initiated the shutdown
     
  20. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    316
    um two years ago he may have.:oops:
     

Share This Page

Loading...