Noob Question

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by sparker781, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I am glad that I found this board. Here is my dilemma. I installed VM ware and installed Windows 7 and all was well...I figured I would install this as my OS. I realize that its in beta however after the install which by the way I tried as a dual boot with my XP install....I rebooted the computer and I got nothing but a black screen with a little color at the very top of the screen.

    Again...It worked fine under VM ware and not sure what happened. Anyone have any suggestion as to what to try short of performing a fresh install?

    Thanks
     
  2. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Could be a hardware conflict or an install error. I'd try booting off your Windows 7 disk and attempting a startup repair. If that didn't work, I'd try formatting the Windows 7 Partition and reinstalling.

    Give that a go, and let us know how you fare.

    (PS; If it worked fine in VM, that just means the OS Boot disk isn't corrupted. It uses emulated hardware to run a VM, so it may still be a hardware incompatibility.)
     
  3. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well.....

    I did as you instructed and I have my space back on my HD however whenever I reboot my computer I am being booted to the OS selection screen. I have a choice of "Earlier Version Of Windows", "Windows 7", and Windows 7"

    my boot.ini looks like this:

    ;
    ;Warning: Boot.ini is used on Windows XP and earlier operating systems.
    ;Warning: Use BCDEDIT.exe to modify Windows Vista boot options.
    ;
    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /FASTDETECT

    I am at a loss. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  4. freddy1408

    freddy1408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    The same thing with the boot screen happened to me when it restarted whsilt I was reinstalling windows 7. It goes back to just one windows 7 entry after the install has finished. I would try a reinstall because it shounds liek it has not installed properly.
     
  5. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reinstall

    I do not want to reinstall Windows 7 at all right now. I would prefer to go back to just having XP until I can get an external drive and back my data up on it. I would merely like to remove the options of trying to boot to 2 windows 7 os's from the os chooser.

    Thanks
     
  6. Hhgduy

    Hhgduy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the bios you could select boot from HDD-1 (which is supposedly your XP partition)
    Then it automatically boots from that.
     
  7. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok....But

    Thats fine however can I not remove those other 2 options?
     
  8. register

    register New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not very experienced with this stuff but I think if you have two windows partitions and you have selected the windows xp one first in the boot order and dont have the windows 7 dvd in your drive it will start windows xp directly.
     
  9. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    No....

    That doesnt seem to be it. As I stated....I do not have my HD partitioned anymore. Yet somehow Windows 7 is listed in the OS chooser?

    I dont get it
     
  10. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Boot your Windows XP Disk, enter the second recovery mode option you see, (I believe you have to press R, or something like that).
    Log in on the command prompt, and direct it to your xp partition.
    Type fixmbr
    then when that's done, type fixboot
    Restart.
     
  11. Hhgduy

    Hhgduy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well

    I managed to install something called Bootchooser. I went into this app and removed both Windows 7 entries from the OS Chooser. I am not sure if this fixed the issue but at least I can boot into XP.
     
  13. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Resolved

    I fixed the issue. I installed an application called: Boot choOSer and removed the 2 windows 7 entries. I am now going to install Windows 7 on my hard drive....non dual boot of course.
     

Share This Page

Loading...