Problem with a message at startup

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by Tomh, May 1, 2013.

  1. Tomh

    Tomh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hallo,

    Everytime I startup I get a message saying that something is wrong with recent.vbe, what exactly is wrong and/or the errorcode varies but recent.vbe is always involved.

    Attached are a few screenshots of such messages. I have no clue about how to get rid of these messages or what the mean. I fully updated my windows and ran a few free virusscans, none of those things changed anything regarding the message.

    Hope someone knows how to deal with this and if this is the wrong subforum please let me know.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Every thing I've seen so far is for virus/malware infection or corrupted/missing system files. Check your system for a virus and malware then run sfc /scannow in a cmd prompt. This will find any missing/corrupted system files and try and fix/replace them.
     
  3. Tomh

    Tomh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did a full scan with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and with Avast! both delivered different results Malware found 2 threats(both trojan.agents) and avast! found one which was a different one and a malware-gen. Avast! put it in chest(their version of quarantine) and malware deleted what it found. Took me awhile to find out how I could open a cmd with administrator rights(in hindsight easier than I thought) and ran the sfc /scannow, which came out clean. I even did a boot-virusscan with Avast! but none of the things mentioned above fixed the message... So any other ideas?
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Tomh,

    it sounds like some files have become corrupted. Try refreshing your pc. Click on the settings charm and then change pc settings. Look down the left hand side for General and then click that. It's here you can either Refresh your pc or turn it back to factory settings.
     
  5. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
  6. Tomh

    Tomh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    To kemical; sounds like something that will take a while I will do it overnight
    To Mike; The first link you provided talks about removing a file needed for windows itself(or at least a file of which the pc thinks that it is necessary), I am quite hesitant to do this, are you sure that this wont make things worse? And is there a way to check if the file is really needed even though it is in the folder marked as necessary?
    The second link basically just says update and run antivirusprogram unless you have XP then your supposed to do everything else they say as well, so that is kinda what I already did
     
  7. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    If Mike's links don't do the trick, look in your startup tab (in MsConfig/Task manager). I am sure you will find something there that is running the script. Look for a line that has a dll, fyxegtbu.dll is popular. Right click and disable it. Reboot an see if you are clear.
     
  8. Tomh

    Tomh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did the refreshing thing kemical recommended and so far so good. I had to reinstall a load of programs but there is a list of programs that got removed so it wasn`t that hard just time consuming :) BTW it really is a strict program it removed my word as well as my antivrus programs...
    Thanks for the help.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thank you for updating your thread Tomh. Please post again if you need any further help.. :)
     
  10. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    If you have a file called "Rahul'sVirusprotection.vbe" it's a virus and it's safe to remove it.


    It will probably resist being removed that's why there are so many posts about how to remove it.

    File Extension .VBE Details

    Q&A: How to remove virus Rahul'svirusprotection.vbe? | TechRepublic

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/antivirus.vbe-25464.html

    Mike

    I searched my computer and I found only 1 reference to a .vbe file.

    C:\Windows\assembly\GAC\Microsoft.Vbe.Interop\11.0.0.0__71e9bce111e9429c\Microsoft.Vbe.Interop.dll
     
    #10 MikeHawthorne, May 2, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2013
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I think the op has the issue sorted Mike.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...