Questions about upgrading from WSE 2016 to 2019

monahanz

Extraordinary Member
I have been using WSE 2016 for a few years now to manage a simple home network of 4 windows 4 PC's with one WSE 2016 server.
It worked fine over the past few years. I mainly use it for movie file storage and client backups. Recently some of the overnight backups stopped. No matter what I did the client appeared as "offline". When I reinstalled the connector it seemed to require a different username than on the client. It was the network computer name \ username. However when I went to login back on the client with that name it came us as a new user (new desktop etc.) a total mess!
Gave up doing backups that way and now use Acronis – way better and much easier to retrieve files etc. from.
Anyway I am thinking now might be a good time to upgrade the software on my server for the above movie and other databases.
Looking over the web I see a wide range of WSE 2019 options/prices.
For example one outfit (fastsoftware.co) has the following
Windows Server 2019 16 cores, same with only 4 cores for less than $40-$50.
While another (Amazon) has Microsoft Server Essentials 2 CPU for $359.
What am I missing. I would expect the pricing to be the other way around.
Also does anybody know if I can install the above 4 or 16 core WS on a clean disk without WSE 2016 on it.
Finally what difference does 16, 4 or 2 cores make.
Thanks in advance
John