RAM Question

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by pseudocajun, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. pseudocajun

    pseudocajun New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have windows 7 64 Professional installed with 12 GB of RAM and I note the following:

    CPU-ID shows me with 12 GB of RAM (CPU-Z Validator 3.1)
    However, Window's System Info show Installed Memory (RAM) as 6.00 GB. I also notice that during boot-up, the screen indicates that there is also only 6 GB. Lastly, I ran the memory configurator from crucial which also shows only 6 GB of RAM!

    Any ideas????

    Many thanks in advance,
     
  2. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    If you mean your BIOS boot screen only shows 6 gig of memory then I wouldn't expect Win7 to access more than 6 gig. Have you tried reseating your memory, swapping memory sticks, etc.?

     
  3. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    This is a duplicate thread
     
  4. Zomby88

    Zomby88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you know it has 12 gigs installed , did you bulid it ? Did it indeed come with 12 gigs installed?
    Does the motherboard support 12 gigs?
     
  5. pseudocajun

    pseudocajun New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Zomby88, yep built the computer myself.. Had 6 gigs installed, but computer was only seeing 4? Ram memetest, and no errors. installed another 6 gigs a few days back and not it only sees 8 gigs while CPUID sees all 12 gigs. Going to reseat the memory this morning and see if that helps.

    I suppose that I'll also flash the BIOS as there are 3 updates since the version I have..
     

Share This Page

Loading...