remote connection: can't select who can connect

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by croatianchemist, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. croatianchemist

    croatianchemist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    I have 3 computers with Windows 7 Pro.

    I can use remote
    control between 2 of them, but I can not connect from any of those two to the
    third one. All the services needed for remote control are running, and I have
    tried several tutorials on how to set up remote control...and nothing. Again,
    only on third computer remote control does not work. On that computer I have 2
    accounts: one standard and one admin. I have put admin account under "Select
    users" and did not help. Tried with enabled Administrator account and nothing.
    Below you will see the picture which describes the problem. I can not select who
    can connect.
    Untitled.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    On the problem Windows 7 Pro machine type
    gpedit.msc
    Expland Computer Configuration
    Expand Administrative Templates
    Expand Windows Components
    Expand Remote Desktop Services
    Expand Remote Desktop Session Host
    Select Connections
    In the right pane double click
    Allow users to connect remotely using Remote Desktop Services
    Select the radio button that says "Not Configured" (See Attachment)
    OK your way back out of there and close the Group Policy Management Console and restart the computer.
    See if that helps
    Welcome to the forums and keep us posted.
    Regards
    Randy
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. croatianchemist

    croatianchemist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    error in replying... :)
     
  4. croatianchemist

    croatianchemist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have allready stumbled upon this advice when I was googling my problem.
    And
    I cound not apply it, because there was not "Remote Desktop Services" under
    "Windows components". Strange. I must have mest up my 7 badly. Homegroup is not
    accesible anymore, nor I can share printer installed on problematic computer.
    Reinstall is in orderd...and this time I am leaving everything as is after
    installation [​IMG]

    thanks
    for your help...appreciate it...best of regards
     
  5. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    the best way i have found to connect to pcs remotly through LAN without changing things on your pc is using " UltraVNC" , part of the setup says what u want to install, either, viewer or server, install servers on the pc u want to view and the viewer on the pc u want to watch the other pcs on,, u enter the local ip , ( either found on the router or ipconfig in cmd) u connect withough a flicker or lag,
     
  6. croatianchemist

    croatianchemist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    aha...

    so it is not something like teamviewer - it works over internet, not lan?
     
  7. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    ultravnc will work over lan and over the internet , when u try and connect the ip you enter determines where u connect . e.g lan could be 192.186.02 for example or if your doing it over internet then it would be your actual ip,
     
  8. croatianchemist

    croatianchemist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, but can I have server and viewer installed at the same time on 1 machine?
     
  9. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    yes when installing it gives u 3 options

    server and viewer - both as below

    server only - this is the pc u want to watch

    viewer only -this is the pc u would watch from

    if u google UltraVNC and go on there website, download the .exe and just be careful when installing it and u will see the options of what type of installtion u want :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    also on the pc u install the server on , there is a couple of options u might want to change, one of them is " about having a blank background" when u connect, once all the commands are set then , untick options like , tray icon so they cant disable it etc, takes time to setup to the way u want but its amazin :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. croatianchemist

    croatianchemist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice, will try...

    two more questions :)

    1. is it heavy on CPU or RAM whan running in background ?
    2. is it somehow possible to conect to my PC from outside my home network? (I do not have permanent IP adress)
     
  12. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    its not too cpu hungry or ram hungry , its decent program, u can connect outside your lan, if you go out of your house then you wil have to connect to your internet, run command promt and type ipconfig to get your true IP, then each time you connect then you will have to type the command,also if its a router you will have to allow ports

    i wouldnt really recommend connecting outside your LAN for security issues, im not a big fan of it to be fair, some will disagree, its weather u feel its safe or not,

    if u struggle with UltraVNC you can try TightVNC which is another program, same tool, diff name :)
     
  13. croatianchemist

    croatianchemist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have found out that I can connect remotly to my PCs using Windows Live Mesh. Even from browser from work.
    Nice and simple.
     
  14. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    i would say VNCs are more secure as there not website based :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...