Restore windows 7 with image backup

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Pedro Rebelo, Nov 5, 2014.

  1. Pedro Rebelo

    Pedro Rebelo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys.
    I have a windows 7 64 professional edition with restore tool making a backup image every week.
    My system has failed but I have last week's restore copy. How do I restore my system with this copy? I didn't create a system repair dvd before the system failure.
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    What is the name of the software you use to make your backup image? Where did you save the backup image?
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    IF you've used the native Windows backup tool to create your system images, you should be able to boot from your installation media or recovery disk and
    Click the link that says "Repair" and you should see some options to restore your computer from a system image.
    SOURCE: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/restore-computer-from-system-image-backup#1TC=windows-7
     
  4. strollin

    strollin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    36
    Also, you can go to another PC that is running the same version of Win 7 and create the System Repair disk there.
     
  5. Pedro Rebelo

    Pedro Rebelo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried to use the original windows dvd and I went to another pc with the same version of windows to create a system repair disk. When I try to boot from both of them, it says that's a different version :X
     
  6. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Did you make sure it was the same bit type...eg 32 bit windows 7 pro or 64 bit windows 7 pro?
     
  7. Pedro Rebelo

    Pedro Rebelo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, for sure. The pc is new and I am using the original dvd. But is there any way to confirm windows version accessing system files? I can open all the files of this installation, only not able to start up.
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  9. Pedro Rebelo

    Pedro Rebelo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used jellybean keyfinder and I've figured that my faulty installation and the good one where I've created the restore disk are the same. X15-37262
     
    #9 Pedro Rebelo, Nov 5, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014
  10. youbetter

    youbetter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can try data recovery tool
     
  11. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106

Share This Page

Loading...