Switch off windows updates temporarily?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by mikky, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. mikky

    mikky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to switch off all windows updates temporarily, and work offline. I have a CD-ROM, that successive windows updates have rendered inoperative. I can run this disk on an old machine, but it will not run on my main machine. I could go through the many updates, and with great difficulty, find the offending updates and switch them off. I am unsure which ones are causing the problem, and if I could (with one click) temporarily switch them all off, I could run this disk, while working off-line. Is it possible to do this?

    Mike
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    I'm pretty sure you can't do that but you could try booting into safe mode? Also have you checked that the CD-ROM doesn't have any firmware updates? They can often increase the functionality of these devices.. If your unsure post the make and model and I'll look for you.
     
  3. mikky

    mikky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Aah you meant an actual CD-ROM/DVD and not the drive... Apologies I got my wires crossed...

    I checked out the link above and that DVD is compatible with most versions of Windows:
    ref:
    http://www.naval-military-press.com/official-history-of-the-great-war.-france-belgium.-dvd-rom.html

    So at one time this disk would run but now it won't? What is the actual error message you get when you try to run the disk?

    Does your system have a DVD drive?
     
  5. mikky

    mikky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again Kemical. Would you believe, I tried it today, and it is working again (a bit temperamental though) To be honest it is that long ago I cannot remember the message, but it would not even load. Today it is running. What is it about windows updates?

    Mike
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    If the DVD has a start up exe or icon try right clicking on it and choosing properties, compatibility and run as administrator.
     

Share This Page

Loading...