Three BSOD errors. Please help.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Quadcam, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed Windows 7 Professional two weeks ago, and my computer has been freezing and also had various BSOD's. I installed Windows 7 Professional over the release candidate, which I had absolutely no problems with. I've only had problems since I installed the full version.

    The three BSOD's that I've encountered and been able to document are as follows-

    nvstor64.sys
    netio.sys
    storport.sys

    All of my drivers are up to date, and there's really no theme. It will freeze when I'm watching a movie, playing music, streaming online radio, or for what seems to be no reason.

    I've attached my BSOD zip file.

    I'm at a loss and think the only possible remedy is to reinstall the operating system.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you very much.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the reply.

    I'm slightly confused though. I was told by another user (a premium supporter) that what I did was fine.

    "when you installed it formatted the old Windows 7 installation."
     
  3. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello,

    I ran your Dump files its pointing to Storport.sys i have seen it in Vista Computer it an issue with nVidia Chipset and 4 GB RAM. I guess the best thing to do would be remove the Display driver completely then reboot and reinstall from the vendors wesite NOT from Windows Update. Also update your RAID Driver because its mentioned in stack values. Uninstall any third party Antivirus / Firewall installed in your system and see whether that makes any difference. Check whether you have any BIOS updates.

    Update the following Driver

    Code:
    motport.sys  Tue Jun 19 01:00:22 2007
    motmodem.sys Tue Jun 19 01:00:22 2007
    motccgp.sys  Sat Nov 03 02:07:24 2007
    Code:
    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (d1)
    An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
    interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high.  This is usually
    caused by drivers using improper addresses.
    If kernel debugger is available get stack backtrace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 0000000000000030, memory referenced
    Arg2: 0000000000000002, IRQL
    Arg3: 0000000000000000, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation
    Arg4: fffff880010dbbad, address which referenced memory
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    READ_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff80002d100e0
     0000000000000030 
    CURRENT_IRQL:  2
    FAULTING_IP: 
    storport!RaUnitAsyncError+13d
    fffff880`010dbbad 488b5d30        mov     rbx,qword ptr [rbp+30h]
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xD1
    PROCESS_NAME:  SndVol.exe
    TRAP_FRAME:  fffff800040abb70 -- (.trap 0xfffff800040abb70)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=fffffa8005cb7390 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=fffff880010ddca6
    rdx=fffff880010d9000 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff880010dbbad rsp=fffff800040abd00 rbp=0000000000000000
     r8=fffff800040abcd0  r9=fffffa8006059ba8 r10=fffffa8004dc0b20
    r11=0000000000000002 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0         nv up ei ng nz na pe cy
    storport!RaUnitAsyncError+0x13d:
    fffff880`010dbbad 488b5d30        mov     rbx,qword ptr [rbp+30h] ss:00000000`00000030=????????????????
    Resetting default scope
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80002ad9469 to fffff80002ad9f00
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff800`040aba28 fffff800`02ad9469 : 00000000`0000000a 00000000`00000030 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff800`040aba30 fffff800`02ad80e0 : 00000014`00000000 fffffa80`06059ba8 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000e00 : nt!KiBugCheckDispatch+0x69
    fffff800`040abb70 fffff880`010dbbad : fffffa80`06059ba8 fffffa80`06059ba8 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`04dc0b20 : nt!KiPageFault+0x260
    fffff800`040abd00 fffff880`010db869 : fffffa80`04dc0b20 00000000`00000001 00000000`000000fe fffffa80`04dc1060 : storport!RaUnitAsyncError+0x13d
    fffff800`040abde0 fffff880`010db8d3 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`000000fe 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : storport!RaidUnitCompleteRequest+0x399
    fffff800`040abec0 fffff800`02ae55dc : fffff800`02c52e80 fffffa80`00000001 fffffa80`04dc1128 00000000`00000000 : storport!RaidpAdapterDpcRoutine+0x53
    fffff800`040abf00 fffff800`02ae0065 : 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`04c10060 00000000`00000000 fffff880`010db880 : nt!KiRetireDpcList+0x1bc
    fffff800`040abfb0 fffff800`02adfe7c : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KxRetireDpcList+0x5
    fffff880`086b4be0 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiDispatchInterruptContinue
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    storport!RaUnitAsyncError+13d
    fffff880`010dbbad 488b5d30        mov     rbx,qword ptr [rbp+30h]
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  3
    SYMBOL_NAME:  storport!RaUnitAsyncError+13d
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    MODULE_NAME: storport
    IMAGE_NAME:  storport.sys
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4a5bcace
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xD1_storport!RaUnitAsyncError+13d
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xD1_storport!RaUnitAsyncError+13d
    
    Hope this helps
     
  4. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I checked out that web site and it said to do a "clean install", which I selected when installing.

    If I'm supposed to format the drive first, how do I do so? Might be a silly question, but if I'm running the operating system, how can I format it?

    Thank you
     
  5. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Jack,

    Thank you for the reply. I did a complete removal and install of my video card drivers already, and I got the update from the EVGA web site as I always do. I don't have my computer set up in a RAID configuration, so would that matter? If so, how do I update the drivers? There is a BIOS update, but like I said, I haven't had any problems until now and don't know why that would cause it.

    Thank you very much

    Edit-neither of the links for the diagnostic programs worked. I've already scanned my hard drive with Western Digital's diagnostic tool. Would you suggest that I try Memtest?
     
    #5 Quadcam, Mar 18, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  6. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never mind,

    I successfully got to the web site you linked to, and the memory diagnostic tool is Memtest. I'll try running it overnight tonight.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks again.
     
  7. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    How long should the system integrity checker run for? I don't think it ran properly because it only lasted a second. I took a screen shot and here's what the results were.

    Thanks

    ScreenShot001..
     
  8. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello,

    Ya you typed it wrong its SFC /SCANNOW - After SFC a space then slash SCANNOW !!
    The link for Memory Diagnostic is www.carrona.org/memdiag.html

    Hope this helps,
    Captain
     
  9. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I formatted and reinstated Windows 7, so hopefully that will do the trick.

    Thanks again.
     
  10. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I was streaming a video and yet another BSOD :mad:. I can't access the dump file. Winzip encounters an error, and I can't attach the file on it's own. I'm set as the administrator, but I get a message about "containing the owner or administrator".

    What do I have to do?

    Thank you very much.
     
  11. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it to work. Dump file is attached.

    Thanks again
     

    Attached Files:

    #11 Quadcam, Mar 20, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  12. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if I can use the RAID drivers to update my mainboard, even if they are for Vista? There's no available RAID drivers for Windows 7. I have an EVGA 680i.

    Thank you very much.
     
  13. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I was literally composing a message stating that my computer has been freezing, but no BSOD's, then alas, the STORPORT.SYS BSOD. When it was just freezing, it happened 3 times in a couple hours while listening to streaming online radio, then last night when playing music on my computer.

    When I just got the STORPORT.SYS BSOD, I was using the voice recognition software installed on Win 7. I don't know if it could be related.

    My dump file is attached.

    Please help, Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, I'll try that.

    It doesn't make any sense to me at all why Windows 7 RC worked flawlessly with the same setup, but I've been having these issues since installing the full retail version.

    Any ideas why I would encounter problems now?

    Thanks again.
     
  15. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed it on the same drive that the release candidate was on, but I formatted the drive first via the Windows 7 installation disk.

    From what I've read, that is the correct way to go about it. Is that right?

    Thank you
     
  16. Quadcam

    Quadcam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I hadn't received any BSOD's for a while, until moments ago, and I got a STORPORT.SYS BSOD's yet again.

    Here's the info that was included in the window that popped up after reboot, and the dump file is attached.


    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: d1
    BCP1: 0000000000000030
    BCP2: 0000000000000002
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: FFFFF88001095BAD


    Please help,
    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...