Trying to add ssd to current system with 2tb hdd

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Hardware' started by Dave Chalk, Mar 30, 2014.

  1. Dave Chalk

    Dave Chalk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    HP tells me I have to buy new win os to make ssd my boot drive. They claim current hdd is keyed to win 8.1 from factory. Something doesn't see right as other are managing to add ssd after the fact and getting the ssd to act as primary drive for booting.

    Appreciate any help as win 8 as all new to me including bios settings.

    I have Acronis 2014 and a trial copy of macrium..
     
  2. crew15m

    crew15m New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently transferred my Win 8.1 pro OS to smaller SSD with Acronis True Image 2014.. Place Acronis disk in computer and attach the SSD drive too , restart and boot from the cd, select True Image, Tools & Utilities menu at top, then select clone drive and take it from there.
     
  3. Dave Chalk

    Dave Chalk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blank post
     
    #3 Dave Chalk, Mar 30, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2014
  4. Dave Chalk

    Dave Chalk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Are you talking about a rescue disc or an acronis program disc?



    Sent from my iPhone using WindowsForum
     
  5. Dave Chalk

    Dave Chalk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you have to change anything in bios?


    Sent from my iPhone using WindowsForum
     
  6. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    The Macrium Reflect free edition will do the job. That's what I use.
     
  7. crew15m

    crew15m New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was referring to the acronis 2014 program disc. The only thing you have to do is boot from disk instead of OS . depending on your computer manufacturer can be F12,F10,esc from startup screen to access boot menu.
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    How large is the SSD you are trying to use? Some systems have a small one to use as an accelerator for a larger hard drive. I would not recommend trying to move the OS to one of those.
     
  9. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Why not?
     

Share This Page

Loading...