When I delete either the original or the duplicate, the other file is deleted as well and, when I restore the single example from the recycle bin, both are restored. My own solution is:- 1) Drag and drop the original file onto its duplicate into the picture folder. 2) Stop creating files on the desktop. However, I wonder if there is a better way of doing this that would allow me to create files on the desktop again. I often use the desktop to convert RAW photo files, prior to filing them in the picture folder, which may have something to do with this.