Windows 7 Visual Studio 2015 doesn't want to begin

Discussion in 'Microsoft Products and Community' started by roberts45213, Oct 31, 2015.

  1. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I start up Visual Studio 2015, it shows me this
    [​IMG]
    I have a Microsoft account, and have signed in and logged out many times on this screen.

    But if I click the Close button, or the Top X, the whole program closes rather than just the login screen.

    It tells me my license has expired despite the program being free.

    I use windows 7.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    ussnorway likes this.
  3. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's what I downloaded. Is still says its free, yet it still requires a license. All I can do in this screen is add an account, which I have many times, but it changes nothing. Any attempt to actually use this program results in the program closing, or telling me that my license expired.
     
  4. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It just loops around in a circle of "Here's Visual Studio 2015>Check out the Free Version>Here's Visual Studio 2015"
     
  5. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    It doesn't look like the current community edition - I'd uninstall it, reboot, download the current community edition and reinstall.
     
  6. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funnily enough, I did do that. This is like the 4th-5th time I've installed this program, and it's still like this.

    Just for this I'm going to uninstall and reinstall again, and hope that this one turns out ok.
     
  7. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Maybe run a registry cleanup first to remove any history of other installs.
     
  8. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Surprise! The same thing.
    [​IMG]
    I downloaded it again (I checked for the most modern version) and it still says my license has expired.
    And pressing X or Close still closes the entire program.
     
  9. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I signed in using my Microsoft account, and it still does the "exit upon clicking anything" gag.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    317
    I run the installer off today for a test on my wx laptop (don't have a w7 anymore sorry) and it downloaded/ installed fine with a skip login screen.
    Screenshot (262).
    Screenshot (266).
    VS isn't a program I much like but the link works.


    p.s. be warned when you try to remove it that the un-install tool will in fact install all the 3rd party crap back onto your system instead... typical Microsoft.
     
    #10 ussnorway, Oct 31, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  11. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what seems to be giving me an "Invalid License"? I know VS15 works on windows 7 computers.
     
  12. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    I've installed the community edition and it works fine. Have you uninstalled, rebooted, run a registry cleanup (recommend ccleaner), rebooted and reinstalled?
     
  13. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uninstalled Visual Studio and all it's components, cleared cache using ccleaner, rebooted, reinstalled, got these errors
    [​IMG]

    And surprise again, it brings me to the kill program popout again with my account already logged in.
    [​IMG]

    If I can't get this working, can anyone suggest a program that can do what visual can, but for sure free?
     
  14. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
  15. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I got the same errors as him, so doing those checks seems redundant.

    "If you install it from web installer, I suggest you install it from the ISO image"

    I installed it from the web installer, where can I find the ISO image?
     
  16. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
  17. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the ISO, and then opened that, and then downloaded Visual Studio 2015 again. I got the same errors once again, and my license is still expired. I'm running out of things to try.
     
  18. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Have you been running the install by right clicking on it and selecting "run as administrator"? I can only imagine something is being left over after the uninstall. You could try doing a complete Windows reinstall - if you don't want to lose various things you first could make a complete image using Macrium Reflect free edition. Recovering from the image afterwards would overwrite everything of course but it would help confirm if the problem is about leftover junk or if there is an intrinsic problem with installing.
     
  19. roberts45213

    roberts45213 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So one of the options when choosing to change the program is "Repair", so I ran that, and got this:

    [​IMG]

    I checked the common issues and workarounds, and nothing mentions Devenv, and when I click "log file", nothing happens
    clicking Common workarounds brings you here: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3039361
     
  20. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    317
    Install the Windows updates... VS requires a fully updated system to install
     

Share This Page

Loading...