Windows 7 VMWare Workstation and Player not working

Discussion in 'Virtualization' started by boypeter99, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. boypeter99

    boypeter99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try to run either workstation or player I get the message The VMWare authorisation service is not running. When I check in computer management, services, it's set to Automatic but it won't start. I get an error "service-specific code 6000002"

    Anyone else get this? Anyone got past this?
     
  2. darco

    darco New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am using Win x64 and I did install VMWare 6.5.1 and it was working fine. All of a sudden, I get that same message you do now. Matter of fact, I am having alot of issues w/x64. I tried to open Disk Defrag and task manager says its running but it never appears. IE has issues for me in private mode. Rebooting seems to work w/some apps but not all.... hmm...I know its a Beta but... darco
     
  3. boypeter99

    boypeter99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using 32bit. Everything worked fine in Vista. I need to run VMWare because I'm developing stuff for clients in XP . So I took the easy way out and went back to Vista. Pity, cos there's a lot of stuff I like in W7 :(
     
  4. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Is there any reason you specifically need VMWare?
    Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 works fine in Windows 7.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. darco

    darco New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    hmm,,,Im gonna check that out.....thxs darco **edit***..uggh..doesnt supporrt linux **edit** well actually it does and was able to load up Mint....x64 wont boot up tho.
     
    #5 darco, Jan 15, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009
  6. boypeter99

    boypeter99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kyle, that's true -though I haven't tried it. But I'm also using vmware for running a hackintosh as well and that won't work in VPC07. Thanks anyway!
     
  7. darco

    darco New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mike and (deleted member) like this.
  8. boypeter99

    boypeter99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm interesting. I didn't actually remove the __vmware_user__ login - I just did "net user __vmware_user__ /active:no". Maybe that was the cause of the problem - I should have left it alone!! Or done it Aaron Parker's way! Heh - or even checked the vmware website first :)

    Hi darco - well I reinstalled Win7, used Aaron Parker's fix and everything is fine now :) Thanks for your help.
    Pete

    Hi darco - well I reinstalled Win7, used Aaron Parker's fix and everything is fine now :) Thanks for your help.
    Pete
     
    #8 boypeter99, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  9. vova_king

    vova_king New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    But exist firewood under материнку P5B
    А существую ли дрова под материнку P5B

    But exist firewood under maternal charge P5B
    А существую ли дрова под материнку P5B
     
    #9 vova_king, Jan 18, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  10. darco

    darco New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    anytime , glad it worked for you....

    darco
     

Share This Page

Loading...