Windows 7 What AntiVirus Should i install?

Discussion in 'Windows Security' started by Kash2Smash, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. Kash2Smash

    Kash2Smash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    My laptop:
    Sony- E Series
    Win7/ 64-Bit / i3 processor/ 4GB/ Hard Disk: 500 GB

    Current anti-virus: Microsoft Essentials

    I dont know which anti-virus to use. Everything for my pc was fine however yesterday i received: Win32/Cycbot.B, and MSE cant do much

    Can you please advice me what to do?!?!?!

    Also, what anti-virus should i use?
    It would be nice if you guys could suggest me free anti-viruses but if there is any anti-virus which needs payment but is very good, do tell me :)

    thanks a lot guys,
    Kashish
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I would definitely avoid AVG. They recently released an update that trashed a lot of peoples PC on reboot. It's also frequently named as a problem in Crash Dumps. I use Avast free Comodo only the firewall and Webroot Soy Sweeper.
    Joe
     
  3. Kash2Smash

    Kash2Smash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh u mean webroot spy sweeper, i had it, when i got my pc for sometime, but yeh i think i should renew it.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,837
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    I use Avast too and have had 'Nod32' recommended as a anti-virus programme worthy of buying by many folk..

    http://www.eset.co.uk/
     
  5. Kash2Smash

    Kash2Smash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, what are your views on microsoft security essential?
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,837
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Recently I got a virus whilst using MSE which is the first time in getting a virus for some number of years.. Perhaps I was just really unlucky as I was using a beta version at the time?...
    I've now switched to using Avast and Malwarebytes.
     
  7. Kash2Smash

    Kash2Smash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    thnks guys, i got a virus using MSE as well :(
    i will change it . thnks for the comments.
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,837
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Hi Kash,
    glad to be of help.. Please let us know how things go...
     
  9. Kash2Smash

    Kash2Smash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, i called in this technician,
    he told me to get kaspersky internet security 2010, i bought it and got it updated to 2011.
    it found some, god rid of the virus, but windows defender still kept on showing the virus. i then got malwarebytes free version. scanned and got rid. but then eventually, i ended up formating my pc... lol. i learned my lesson :)

    thnks for helping me out guys.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,837
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Glad to be of some help.. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...