What do these error codes mean?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by cgrim29588, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    My computer was running slow and I decided to do a pre-boot system assessment on my Dell computer and got this error:

    And I selected yes and continued the test and it asked it I wanted to enter the Dell Diagnostic program and I selected yes and it started the test and after a big I got this message:

    What does these error messages mean?
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Have you been to the Dell Support site. They usually have quite a bit of information.

    Is the drive making any funny noises? Have you run a Disk check? If you open Computer and select your drive, then properties, on the tools tab it has an option to check for errors.

    You may want to backup up your system soon.
     
  3. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,042
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    That error message can be associated with a failing hard drive.

    It might be a good idea to backup anything really important to a backup location if you can still boot your computer.

    Then, see if you can get the computer to start from the Widows DVD and try and do a repair install of Windows 7.

    If it says that it can't find the old installation or your hard drive, you may be in trouble.

    Repair Install - Windows 7 Forums

    Mike
     
  4. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    Saltgrass: I did and the first error code had to do with a failing hard drive. and since my computer is still under warranty Dell with replace the hard drive with no cost to me. It doesn't make any funny noises, but does beep 2 time during startup. No I haven't ran a Disk check, but I will. I will backup everything, so I don't lose anything.

    MikeHawthorne: It does have to do with a failing hard drive and I will back up anything really important to a backup location as I can still boot my computer and it runs fine besides being slow sometimes. I'll do as you suggested to boot from the Windows DVD and try and do a repair install of Windows 7.
     
  5. babaganush

    babaganush New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    I got a brand new Samsung SSD from Dell after RMA'ing the first one and its giving me this error again so unless i have really bad luck, this error applies to more than just a failing hard drive.
     
  6. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Attach it to a different port with a different cable (unless it is a laptop). Does that SSD have a Marvell controller. If yes, you should attach it to a Marvell port.
     

Share This Page

Loading...