windows 10 Application 0xc000041d unable to start

sumdumgai

Hello. My last post seems to have disappeared. I've been running an older application on several system for many years without problem. It currently runs on a W10 laptop, a W11 laptop, and until two days ago, it was running on a W10 desktop. When I launch it, it loads, but it does not display the pop-up enter password window. It just stops and exits. There is nothing in Task Manager. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the application, and I've restored the OS back to a couple of days ago when it was running correctly.

The Event Viewer displays:
Faulting application name: dto2k.EXE, version: 5.0.0.7, time stamp: 0x923c2904
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x038228e8
Faulting process id: 0x42e0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d9b423b566fd68
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Day-Timer\Day-Timer Organizer 2000\dto2k.EXE
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: cc64fba5-f182-4870-bec7-bc9a1b931a73
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Any help would be appreciated.

Hello,

I understand that you are experiencing an issue with an older application that stopped working on your Windows 10 desktop. The application loads, but it does not display the password window and instead stops and exits. The Event Viewer shows an exception code of 0xc000041d. I will try to assist you in resolving this issue.

The exception code 0xc000041d indicates a STATUS_FATAL_USER_CALLBACK_EXCEPTION error, which usually occurs when an application's exception handler encounters an exception. This can be caused by various factors, such as compatibility issues, corrupt system files, or conflicts with other software.

Here are a few suggestions you can try to troubleshoot and fix the issue: