Windows 10 Windows 7 is still the best OS

bandyrob

I am a self-imposed system builder. I’ve chosen to build by own PC’s over the years because I have control over much of the build. Recently, my Gigabyte LGA 1150 Z97-D3H motherboard (with Win 10) cratered due to my careless dropping of the HSF on the CPU receptor area when trying to apply fresh Arctic Silver. Consequently the processor pins wouldn’t align properly with the socket. However, the connections on the processor were undamaged.

So I had a spare Gigabyte Z97-D3H LGA 1150 motherboard still in the sealed static bag and decided I would just pop it in as a replacement for the old board. But no! Win 10 recognized a “different” board (even though the replacement board was the same model as the original) and refused to activate Win 10 for the new board. This is a system that I had upgraded with the free Win 10 upgrade back in June/July of 2016. Microsoft did not provide a product activation code at the time of the free upgrade. In retrospect, I believe it would have been prudent for Microsoft to have provided a product code at the time of the upgrade to the end user.

Ok, back to my story. I spent several hours trying to activate Win 10, but to no avail. This forced me to call a Microsoft system engineer in order to reactivate the OS. What a pain! The MS engineer took control remotely and worked his magic to reactivate Win 10. I am always uneasy when a stranger is in control of my system. On a positive note, the engineer provided me with the Windows 10 activation code, but I won’t know if it’s genuinely legit until if and when the process needs to be repeated. In retrospect, and if I had to do it all over again, I would have, should have, stayed with Windows 7. Windows 7 was a stable, predictable, operating system that you could rely on. Windows 10 still needs a lot of work.