Windows 7 not working on my DELL XPS

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Deepak8006, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. Deepak8006

    Deepak8006 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hii,

    I recently installed windows XP on my dell XPS which has a windows 7 preinstalled on it. To proceed with windows XP installation i changed the BIOS setting of SATA from AHCI mode to ATA. Windows XP has been installed properly. Now when i try to reboot the system its taking me to windows XP all the time, i am not able to use windows 7. I want my laptop to show the options of switching between XP and windows 7. Any help in this regard??

    Thanks a lot in advance. I really appreciated your time.

    Thanks
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I will give you this link, it looks like the best one to follow. You will need the drivers to be available for an install, but the site explains that.

    How to enable AHCI : Windows XP « Expertester

    Make note that after you install the AHCI drivers, you have to change the bios accordingly.

    Let us know if you run into any problems.

    Edit: I am not sure, but it sounds like if you are running Win XP SP3 you may already have the drivers..
     
    #2 Saltgrass, Feb 24, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  3. Deepak8006

    Deepak8006 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot sir for your help.
    To follow the above procedure mentioned i have to download and install the APCI driver. However since i dont have any driver installed on windows XP as a result i am not able to use internet, not evn the external drive to install the said driver.

    Kindly suggest any alternative.
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Might be a typo, but ACPI is not the same thing as AHCI.

    Do you have a model for your Dell beside XPS?

    Have you upgraded XP to SP3 yet?
     
  5. Deepak8006

    Deepak8006 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hii Sir,

    First of all sorry its an typo error.....My laptop model no. is XPS L502X and i have not upgraded to SP3 i simply installed XP (SP 2) Pro on my machine having windows 7.
    Thanks for your concern
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    #6 Saltgrass, Feb 24, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  7. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Hi

    There are problems with installing Windows XP after Windows 7 is already installed.
    It works a lot better the other way around.

    Try downloading and installing EasyBCD.

    If it can see both operating systems it will let you add Widows 7 to the boot menu.

    It's free, simple and easy to use.

    EasyBCD - Download.com

    Mike
     
  8. Deepak8006

    Deepak8006 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot Sir it worked after installing easybcd but the problem is i had to change SATA setting from APCI to ATA. However doing this would only enable windows7 to work whereas windows XP has stopped responding. After all i am happy that i have my windows 7 recovered but the sad part is i have windows XP installed but it not functional.....:-(.

    Thanks a lot to all for your help and time

     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Did you go through the process of loading the AHCI driver before you lost XP?

    Can you switch back to the IDE controller and get XP back?
     
  10. Deepak8006

    Deepak8006 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dint load the AHCI driver i just change the SAT settings back to ATA from AHCI. This made my windows 7 work properly. Whereas i can see windows XP as an option when computer starts but if i choose it as an operating system the moment it process, it stops with blue screen and stops to respond. On the other hand if i choose windows 7 it works very well.
     
  11. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    What flavour of 7 are you running?
     
  12. Deepak8006

    Deepak8006 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using windows 7 home premium 64 bit....

     

Share This Page

Loading...