windows 7 screen flicker help!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by DPounds, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. DPounds

    DPounds New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll run it in safe mode. and see what happens. It's strange because it only happens a few times a day and randomly. I'm usually not doing anything when it happens. I'll let you know the outcome tomorrow
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you check my post #15.

    That would tell immediately
     
  3. DPounds

    DPounds New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I tried your suggestion in post #15. It still flickers sometimes.

    Also, I installed the same version (7 Ultimate 32bit. I have 64bit) onto my girlfriends laptop, and she tells me that her laptop is doing the same thing.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Was it the Same DVD?
     
  5. DPounds

    DPounds New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    No not the same disc. I have 64bit and she has 32bit
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    This seems very peculiar.

    I would suggest burning tow more ISO's at 1x speed using Imgburn and use a good quality name-brandDVD

    You can download Imgburn here:

    The Official ImgBurn Website
     
  7. DPounds

    DPounds New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm...... these are original discs from MS (my father works there). They're not pirated

    And my GF and I are still getting the screen flicker
     
  8. Techman 61

    Techman 61 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    check your anti virus program it my be the problem
     
  9. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    DPounds,

    I don't think it was specified anywhere in the thread whether this was the RC or purchashed version.

    Also, I did not, in any shape, manner or form call you a pirate.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  11. UnKnOwN

    UnKnOwN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    same problem happened to me? i have a nvidia card too, switched it out with a ATI and the problem disappeared. switched it back to the nvidia and it started happening again. are you using a DVI connection? i switched my cable to VGA and problem solved.
     
    reghakr and (deleted member) like this.
  12. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Good call,

    But that sucks if you can't use the higher quality DVI connection.
     
  13. UnKnOwN

    UnKnOwN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    i think its cause our video card is too crappy. i have a 8400GS running dual monitors. i'm sure with a better video card, you can use dvi, even hdmi with no problems
     
  14. Oyarsa

    Oyarsa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having the same problem. I'm using a Toshiba Satellite Laptop with a Geforce 8700M GT. The problem didn't seem to occur when I first installed windows, but then I couldn't really make use of the card, so I installed the NVidia driver, and the screen flicker started...

    I think it's a problem with the Nvidia driver specifically, but that's just my guess...

    From other research I saw, it might be possible that the monitor driver itself needs to be updated, but I don't have a clue how to do that as I can't find anything other than a Generic PnP driver for my computer...
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Oyarsa,

    uninstall the Nvidia driver from Control Panel > Programs and features.

    Now restart your computer and Windows should replace it with Microsof's WDDM driver.
     
  16. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Here's what happened to me.

    I just installed my windows 7 Pro and switched out some hardware from my so-called high-end HTPC to my cheap $399.00 E-Machine

    Windows update said One important update. Update for Nvidia 8500GT

    I looked at the optional updates and it was a True Nvidia 8500GT update.

    Stupid me, decided to do the important update first.

    Screen was flickering like crazy.

    Noe why would MS put an important update for the Nvidia card, when the new drivers haven't even been installed yet?
     
  17. Earguy

    Earguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My flickering problem-and solution

    I have an HP laptop Pavilion DV7 1232nr that worked fine with Vista - as far as plugging the HDMI output into my Sharp flatscreen TV.

    But due to a hundred other problems running Vista I did a clean install of Win7 Ultimate. HP has a site for my particular PC that updates drivers for the touchpad and volume bar, etc. and I had to install those. I've been a happy camper.

    But tonight was the first time I plugged my HDMI cable in to watch a DVD. Right off the bat I had all kinds of problems, most of which were resolved by rebooting with the TV connected via the HDMI cable. But the flickering persisted.

    I googled and tried to change the screen resolution, which didn't help. Also via googling I tried to change my view to "extended desktop" and run my DVD player on the second screen (my TV). Still flickered. But, from there, I was able to adjust the refresh rate of the 2nd monitor. It was set to 59Hz. I changed it to 60Hz and no more flicker.

    I hope this helps someone else because my Googling didn't give me the answer I needed.
     
  18. Earguy

    Earguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Follow-up: After a couple hours, the flickering returned. I checked, and somehow the setting had reverted to 59Hz. So I re-set it to 60Hz and resumed with no problems.

    Must be some sort of auto-detect setting that I am manually overriding. Next step is to figure out how to keep it from changing automatically.
     

Share This Page

Loading...