Windows 7 slow boot time compared to Vista

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Ozu, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. Ozu

    Ozu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello! I recently upgraded from Vista Home Premium 64-bit to Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (Build 7100) and noticed that it seems to boot much slower compared to Vista. The only two items I see that start at start up are "VMware Workstation" and "Microsoft Windows Operating System". I also have Norton Internet Security 2010 which starts at startup, but it doesn't show in msconfig.

    I have:
    Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
    8 GB RAM

    I would appreciate any help you can offer and I apologize if this question was asked before.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi,
    welcome to the forum..:)
    Is it possible for you to do a fresh install?
     
  3. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    From your post, I take it you are seeing those two items in MsConfig Startup tab ??

    If you need Vmware, then of course you must leave it. But what is the entry "Microsoft Windows Operating system? Is it connected with VMware?
    Also, I am sure some readers will disagree though, anything to do with Norton security will slow your OS down.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I agree about the norton, I just thought that being the op had 'upgraded' it might better serve to do a fresh install?
     
  5. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    Everytime, kemical. Problem I am finding on forums such as this . "Define upgrade" if you know what I mean.
     
  6. Ozu

    Ozu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I'll try a fresh reinstall and tell you if that works (and see if boot time might increase because of Norton). Thanks for your advice
     
    #6 Ozu, Aug 20, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2009
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Let us know how you get on...

    I'm not sure that 'upgrade process' doesn't always introduce it's own problems.. I would always choose a fresh install over an upgrade..
     
  8. Ozu

    Ozu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That fixed the problem. It boots up at like 1/10th of the time it did before. Thank you! :D
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Good news!..:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...