Windows 7 Startup/Login Problems

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Chris1056, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. Chris1056

    Chris1056 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, recently i installed(upgraded from Vista) Windows 7 build 7600 onto my desktop. It starts up fine, then when i go to login the computer does its "preparing desktop..." then the screen goes black, and stays that way. The cursor is there and movable.

    I Can start in safe mode just fine.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
    #1 Chris1056, Dec 18, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Upgrade or clean install?
     
  3. Chris1056

    Chris1056 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    An Upgrade from Vista
     
  4. Ckn

    Ckn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    No desktop you say?

    If safe mode works, then your Operating System is fine. Normal mode is loading xtra's on top of windows, such as chat programs, firewalls, printer drivers,etc that is causing the problem. Your suspects are:

    Internet Explorer addons may be the problem, disable them, reset all IE defaults. Remove toolbars, popup blockers, etc.
    Startup programs, use msconfig to troubleshoot
    device drivers - try removing unneeded peripherials at the least
    corrupt user profile - create another one under safe mode as admin
    spyware/virus - ensure clean system

    Unfortunately it needs to be troubleshot and may take a little bit to narrow down, but it is fixable!

    Good Luck

    Thomas R
     
  5. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Probably carrying over software and av programs or incompatible drivers. You'll probably have to do a clean install to make it work.
     
  6. Chris1056

    Chris1056 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, i think it will be easier to do a cleaner. I can copy all my documents over onto an external one, it'll all be fine?

    Il will try to do those things first. i dont want to loose anything.
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Can toy tap Alt-Ctl-Del to bring up Task Manager.

    Then choose New > Task, and type explorer,exe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...