Windows 7 won't boot using the same HDD on a second same model computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by dim1962, Apr 28, 2014.

  1. dim1962

    dim1962 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a lot of 10 computers HP Prodesk 600.
    I installed Windows 7 on the first one, I created an Acronis image, but when I tried to restored, for some reasons doesn't work.
    Trying to identify the problem, I used the same HDD already installed, to boot on the second computer.
    The Windows started for 2 seconds and than the message "launch startup repair" appear.
    Selecting "launch startup repair" another message appear "Windows cannot repair the computer automatically"
    I mention that the windows 7 license is embedded.
    Can you please help?
    Thank You!
     
  2. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Could you get us a picture of your Disk Management window and attach using the upload a file button?

    I don't work in IT, but I thought most folks would use the Deployment process to install to multiple systems. A drive just being moved to another system will usually boot, if everything related to the Drive controller and/or bios is at least close. Which would require of course the bios to be set to use the AHCI SATA controller or whatever the original machine used.

    But again, I have no experience with an "embedded" key and multiple installs.
     
  4. dim1962

    dim1962 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank You!!!

    Using the option "Generalize" in sysprep as WHS suggested, everything become compatible.

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page

Loading...