Using the same Windows 7 Key on multiple computers

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by GeneralHiningII, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
    Preface: I'm building my own computer from scratch after having headaches with my current one (a Dell) for about 4 years. Seeing since it's come from Dell, they've saved me the pain of installing Windows 7 myself, and have also handily provided me with a sticker that displays Proof of License and Certificate of Authenticity.
    On the top left bears the line "Windows 7 Pro OA" - from the research I've conducted I have come to the conclusion that OA means OEM (someone with experience please confirm), or non-transferable (again, please confirm).

    However, from other sites/forums I've been on, people have been saying that I can use the same Windows 7 Key on different computers, but only on one at a time, and I must deactivate the first copy before registering it again. This advice logically (at least in my opinion) makes sense, because say the hard drive that has the original copy of Win7 crashes, and I get a new one which I'll probably have to reinstall Win7 on (although, being the amazing company they are, Dell will probably just recover any data and put it on to a new formatted hard drive for me).

    What I've also found is I can use any Windows 7 Repair/Install disc and put that into the new computer, and enter in the old key (assuming I've deactivated it on my Dell computer, and I have internet connection).
    What I've also found out is I can create a system image backup on to a flash drive and restore the new computer through this system image:
    from Page Start.

    As far as I'm aware, this isn't illegal as I'm not distributing the software nor am I abusing it by using it on multiple computers, but using the same product key to move my copy of Windows 7 from an old hard drive to a newer and faster SSD.

    Any help on this topic would be great.
     
  2. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    It's not really a matter of the Product Key, it's a matter of License. The Product Key gives you access to Windows, and that can be achieved / multiplied by several methods. The way to a legitimate Windows is through ownership of a License... and that is, principally, one License / one Windows.

    It's a strictly legal matter, and what you seem to do is illegal. You have, most likely, the right to use Windows on one computer, which is the normal case. You may purchase several Licences, but you have to pay for them. Multiplying Windows, in whatever way, is illegal. Doesn't matter if you don't use the several programs simultaneously.
     
  3. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
  4. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I clicked on the link you gave and it said this thread not found. I do know I built a computer using my same case and to get it activated I had to call and explain to Microsoft that I had put a new motherboard and processor in my computer. I did use the same hard drive but they still had to go in and make changes for me in order to activate it. As Titanic said the License is good for just one computer. Give Microsoft a call and see what they say.
     
  5. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
    Quote from the MVP who answered:
    Like you've described pretty much. However as far as I know OEM Windows isn't transferable but I'm not sure if the Windows I'm running is or isn't OEM - a quick check on price and retail Win7 Pro 64bit is 339$AUD, which is how much Dell sold Win7 to me. Knowing Dell though, it will probably is the OEM version.
     
  6. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99

    If you bought the Win 7 separately, it came with a DVD and product key. If that is the case, then it is a retail version. Not an OEM version.
    OEM version refers to the OS that is preinstalled in the computer before someone buys the computer.
     
  7. Howard Walker

    Howard Walker Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    5
    Simple solution. Never buy a computer with the OS pre-installed. It limits your choices dramatically.
    If your new machine uses lots of different components - which it will, then even with an original genuine os disk, odds are that when you have it installed, it won't activate, as I believe that there is a limit to the number of items you can change before it becomes a new computer. Last year my motherboard died. The OS would not install with a new motherboard, so I ended up buying a similar one to the original on Ebay and that worked fine. Your licence is to use the OS on one computer only. If you have a friendly computer shop where you get your bits from, they may be able to get a new and modern motherboard accepted for you. If you need to install the old OS on a new drive, get a Western Digital disk drive, and use the software that comes pre installed to copy the old OS onto the new drive. I do this every three years before my drive wears out. Then I save the old drive as a back up for the data.
     
  8. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
    Alright cool, thanks everyone for your replies. Seems like I'll just have to purchase a retail version of Windows.
     
  9. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    I second that 100%. One problem is, if you buy a major company computer, the OS will be connected to that computer / other computers of the same manufacture. Thus, you can't use a Dell disk on a HP computer. It's not a definite truth, but pretty much so.

    To buy the full stuff may cost, but it'll be ALL YOURS.

    Cheerio :up:
     
  10. Ralph Bromley

    Ralph Bromley Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    45
    Yeah a good way to get around all this is to use an OEM copy of windows and be done with it.
    Though if you are used to pre installed mnedia playback and stuff you are in for a real shock.
     
  11. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Actually you can use the same product key on another computer as I read on another forum of a user who did, and Windows did activate,though not more than 2 PCs. So if you try it on a third computer Windows won't activate with that product key.

    Most laptops or computers you buy in stores are pre-installed with an OS. That's not a problem as you can always wipe that OS off and do a clean install of Windows 7 or Windows XP from scratch as long as you have the install DVD and valid product key. all of my netbooks came with Windows 7 Starter and other crap that the manufacturers put on. So what I do now when I buy a laptop is format the hard drive and install whatever version of Windows I want,Windows 7 or Windows 8,clean install.
     
  12. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Most certainly, you can do lots of tricks here. My point is, the simple is valid. When you speak what is true, you don't need to think of what you've spoken. Legitimate licences are legitimate, and having one always provides you the possibility to contact Microsoft, with all support.

    One may get access to Windows through a product key already used, but I wouldn't be sure it might not cause problems.
     
  13. jmf1964

    jmf1964 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm new here but wanted to add my experience to this thread. 2 years ago I built this computer (the one I'm typing on right now)
    and bought windows 7, the package came with 2 discs, the 64bit version and the 32. I installed the 64 on this computer. Last week I installed the 32 bit version on another computer as ms no longer supports xp. I used the same cd key. Then I bought, from amazon, an oem builder version of win 7 and intended to use that cd key to activate the installation. As it turns out I didn't need it as windows activated with no complaints using the 2 year old cd key. The only explanation I can think of as to why is one is 64 bit and the other is 32.


    John
     
  14. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    If you have both the 32 and 64 bit, they are legitimate, as such. They are actually two different OSs. There may be a clause in copyrights that says, only either the 32 or 64 bits may be installed = only one is allowed = another installation is illegal.

    Functionally it may not be a problem, right away, but it may cause problems in future. To be sure, I suggest you contact Microsoft.
     
  15. jmf1964

    jmf1964 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I contacted Microsoft, they told me that in some cases the second install will activate without a hitch, BUT eventually their computers would notice the double activation and limit functionality on one or both until a new key was entered. She said the fact that one computer was running the 64 bit and the other one 32 would have nothing to do with the activation itself. So I have reactivated with my new cd key and everything should be ok now.

    Thanks.
    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...