Windows 7 wont let certain programs use internet

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Windows 7 sux, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. Windows 7 sux

    Windows 7 sux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 wont let certain programs like Firefox, Chrome, Aim, Hotmail, Guild Wars, use the internet. It will allow other programs like Internet Explorer and another online game get on the internet. I turned off Firewall and that wasnt the issue so im not really sure what to do. Maybe it has to do something with defualting programs or permission to use the internet? Well, i really have no clue what to do so somebody please help? :)
     
  2. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    thats unusual , what antivirus are you using maybe it's that or another program blocking access ?
     
  3. Windows 7 sux

    Windows 7 sux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    CA security. It came with the computer.
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    There you go... disable it like the man said and reboot and test the cure.
     
  5. Windows 7 sux

    Windows 7 sux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope that wasnt it. is there a way to restore default settings for windows 7?
     
  6. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    do you think you may have changed some settings that might be causing the problem ?

    you can restore default settings for windows firewall by going to control panel / windows firewall and over on the left click "restore defaults"

    what else do you have there in your installed software ??
     
  7. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    Your excellent advice it taking my customers.. haha... I'm just wasting time waiting on Bama to whoop up on LSU.
     
  8. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    hehe I'm just chasing your rep count while watching the rugby :D
     
  9. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I just gave you a couple hundred points..... I have yet to receive a check for the ones I have collected... maybe you know how to "spend" them. haha
     
  10. Windows 7 sux

    Windows 7 sux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just uninstalled CA security and restored Firewall settings to default. Still didnt solve the problem. Then I turned off Firewall completely, and still nothing. I dont have anything else installed onto this computer that I can think of that might be causing this. Bahhh, windows 7 sucks D:
     
  11. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    how old is this install ?

    It is possible you have a virus which may have reset your hosts file , restore it by visiting here :)

    If you think a virus is possible then do an online scan with trend micro

    personally I reckon you may have a program interfering with windows firewall so a list of what you have installed might help :cool:
     
  12. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    You did reboot after those changes? I often fix stuff and forget it isn't fixed until I reboot.. .or shut down and let it sit then turn back on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...