Windows 7 X64 Booting Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Akima, May 11, 2009.

  1. Akima

    Akima New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys.

    I'm having problems with my copy of Windows 7 X64 RC1.

    I've managed to install the copy on a partition of my HDD. The installation seemed to go through ok.

    When it comes to loading up the OS, it hangs on a Black screen with the Windows 7 text at the bottom right corner. I thought this was just a first time boot delay.. so i left it over night..

    When i got up this morning, it was still on the same screen! Any ideas?

    My PC spec is the following:

    AMD Athlon X2 64 6000+
    Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
    120GB WD 7200rpm HDD
    Asus M2N-Deluxe Mobo
    2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800Mhz

    Could this be a hardware problem at all? Dose anyone have any ideas on how this can be resolved?

    Just to re cap. I am using the 64Bit Windows 7 RC1.
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Is there another operating system on your computer?

    Did you do a "clean" install to that partition?

    Nvidia has released a Windows 7 driver for you video card 64-bit.

    If you have Internet connectivity, you can download it here:

    Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers
     
  3. Akima

    Akima New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it was a clean Partition.

    I doubt its graphics card problems..yet.. I can't even load up the OS to download and install the drivers..

    I think its the phase before you get to create Usernames/Passwords and enter my Serial Key.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Do you have another OS on your computer?

    At what speed did you build the ISO?
     
  5. Akima

    Akima New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have partitioned my hard drive. One half has Windows XP SP3 and the other half has Windows 7.

    What do you mean by build? If you are on about burning the DVD, i burned it at x4 IIRC.
     
  6. CADmonkey

    CADmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Booting

    Hi.

    I'm dual-booting winXP 64 and Win 7100 64 and so far, it's always booted, but not always first time.

    My current tactic to get Win7 to boot when it doesn't want to (usually right after I install something and reboot) is to press F8 at the 'choose OS' page and choose to ignore checks for digital signing. I find that then everything works as it should, and subsequent boot-ups aren't affected. If that fails, I try Last Known Good Configuration

    Personally, I think my problem is down to unsigned Firewall Miniport drivers from my NOD32 firewall, or possibly my dreadful cheap old Broadcom wifi PCI card
     
    #6 CADmonkey, May 11, 2009
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  7. Akima

    Akima New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice CAD! I will give this a try when i'm home from work!

    I'll keep you posted!
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try putting in the DVD again, and when you get to the install Windows screen, choose Repair My computer.

    Credit to davehc for that one.

    Since you have XP installed, you might want to download a program called Easy BCD for boot options.

    Download EasyBCD 1.7.2 - NeoSmart Technologies
     
  9. Akima

    Akima New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right.. I've formatted the partition and re installed Win 7. I'm still getting the same problem..

    When installing it goes..

    Main Install/Transfer files -> Restart -> Finalise Installation -> Restart -> *load OS* (This is where it is hanging)

    This is the screen that it hangs at, sorry for the low quality.. iPhones and Dark rooms don't mix!

    [​IMG]

    I've tried the piece of software suggested above but i haven't found it of any use yet..

    Regards,
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You mean it doesn't start up with Copying Files, then expanding files,(0% to 2%, then spikes up to 10%), after each sussecive point and expanding files it goes faster and faster etc?

    Don't you have to input your name and check for Internet connectivity.

    Aren't these options showing up?
     
  11. Akima

    Akima New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i understand how windows install, i think its freezing at that phase (after 2nd restart, Name input/internet check Phase)

    As for installing, no spikes or anything.
     
    #11 Akima, May 11, 2009
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  12. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Can you get to safemode? If so install the display drivers. Maybe its a resolution problem. Do you have another monitor around? How are you connecting it? DVI? Your not using dual monitors?
     
  13. Akima

    Akima New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its an Nvidia 8800GT with Dual Dvi.. one is connected to my Screen, and the second is connected to my HD TV via DVI-HDMI cable..

    I'll unplug it and give that a shot, might be that!
     

Share This Page

Loading...