Windows 8 Windows 8.1 or Windows 7 for slow PC?

irsmart

I have two PCs:

(1) An old Compaq tower running a dual-core AMD processor at ~2.2GHz.
1GB RAM (I had to remove a 1GB stick that went bad)
Running Windows Vista

(2) A Gateway laptop with an Intel i3 at 2.4GHz
4GB RAM
Running Windows 7

They both have crappy graphics cards and have a ton of software installed. I want to clean them up and get them working as well as they can (without upgrading the hardware). Neither of them will be used much but I want them to be reliable for MS Word, Spotify, and Google Chrome.

I don't have much experience with Windows 7 and I have no experience with Windows 8/8.1. So on computers with these specs, what would be fastest: Windows Vista, Windows 7, or Windows 8.1?

Thanks!

For the first system you mentioned, I would probably go with Windows 7 as Windows 8 requires a bit of graphics processing power for the modern UI. On the other hand, your second system is a bit newer and would probably be able to run Windows 8 significantly better. I say this because it has an i3 processor which means it should also have at least Intel 3000 graphics.

Windows 8 is a huge step up from Windows 7 though. You'll find there js quite a learning curve with the new modern interface which replaces the conventional start menu and in some ways the desktop as well.

I have two PCs:

(1) An old Compaq tower running a dual-core AMD processor at ~2.2GHz.
1GB RAM (I had to remove a 1GB stick that went bad)
Running Windows Vista

(2) A Gateway laptop with an Intel i3 at 2.4GHz
4GB RAM
Running Windows 7

They both have crappy graphics cards and have a ton of software installed. I want to clean them up and get them working as well as they can (without upgrading the hardware). Neither of them will be used much but I want them to be reliable for MS Word, Spotify, and Google Chrome.