Windows cant retrive information about disks on this computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Bugerion2, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ''Windows cant retrive information about disks on this computer'' this is the text i get when on screen appears ''setup is starting'' anyone knows what is the problem I tryed with drivers and something with virtual disk but still nothing.If there is already thread about this im sorry i couldn't find it useing forum search.
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    A little more information about your current setup would help. How many discs, are the SATA or PATA, are they clean or already have an OS on them???
     
  3. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0


    3 discs,they have system on them and im trying to upgrade from Vista ultimate to w7 ultimate but this error comes out before i select upgrade or custom instalation and my discs are PATA.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello and welcome to the windows7forums
    Did this occur immediately after install.

    Did you perform an upgrade or a "clean" install?
     
  5. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I didn't understand the first part but if you are asking for RAM I have 4GB and i cant ,turn off my D disc its somehow atached to C disc so il try just turning off F disc



    DIDN'T WORK :(
     
    #5 Bugerion2, Nov 29, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2009
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    What does this mean?

    Could you post a sceen shot of Disk management?
     
  7. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    That means that I tryed installing system drivers but nothing and the other one i read on some forum that i need to eneble virtual driver service in service menager so i did it but again same error
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You mean Virtual Disk.

    I don't think that has anything to do with it at all.

    When the PD is running place the DVD in the tray,. use Windows explorer to navigate to the DVD.. Do not click on the DVD itself,. just expand the tree,. Look for setup.exe and try that
     
  9. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmmmmmmmm no setup exe when I expand the tree,thats weird but when i click on it its there.
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    What files are there?
     
  11. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Boot
    efi
    sources
    support
    upgrade
     
  12. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Is it upgrade.exe

    Is tis an ISO,. or id it from the manufacturer?

    Is it more than one disk?
     
  13. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its not upgrade exe just upgrade folder and there isn't upgrade exe in there just netfx and its ISO
     
    #13 Bugerion2, Dec 1, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  14. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tryed with real DVD but still same error
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try re-burning tyhe ISO using ImgBurn v2.5.0.0

    Burn it at it's slowest speed and make sure to use a good quality name-brand DVD.
     

Share This Page

Loading...