Windows 10 Windows Upgrade Issue

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Joel Meaney, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just managed to get the screen to show up on a different TV again and I got into the BIOS so I have set it so it boots from a removable device first and I will get back to you in a bit @kemical
     
  2. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can now see my screen, but I am stuck on a reboot loop still @kemical
     

    Attached Files:

  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Ok.. Did you try booting from the USB stick and running the repair as discussed?
     
  4. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes but it didn't work I will take a picture of the error @kemical
     
  5. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    @kemical i click on repair and choose to do it With USB and then it sort of restarts and takes me straight to setting up windows 10
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Isn't there an option for start up repair?

    Also when you bought the computer did you get a disk to return to factory conditions?
     
  7. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not too sure I have had the pc for a while and I don't have the box anymore @kemical
     
  8. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    @kemical here is all that's available
     

    Attached Files:

  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    You want the 'Troubleshoot my PC'. From there you can try to either repair it or reset if your stuck send in a screenshot.
     
  10. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did that before but it just kept restarting me:( @kemical
     
  11. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has just popped up, do I have to take my hard drive out to back everything up? @kemical
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have decided to go with the previous build option and go back to 8.1 @kemical
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi Joel,
    well if that gets you back to a working machine then maybe it's for the best. I wonder why your machine acted so when trying Windows 10? Anyway if we can help again at any time please post back.
     
  14. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I don't think that has been much help either, it has been saying 'restarting' for the past 35 minutes, but I will leave it for as long as it needs and if I have any issues I will post again. But thank you so much for the help so far
     
  15. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    @kemical I really don't think that it wants to work, it has been trying to go back to 8.1 for over 4 hours and there has been no change at all
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Is this a recovery partition your using or USB?
     
  17. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is loading it back from them Windows.old folder according to a few pages I found, but I'm not sure @kemical
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi Joel,
    when you first bought the machine did you get supplied any disks or a way to return the machine to factory defaults? I'm hoping you have a partition somewhere which has Windows 8.1 on it. All you need to do is find a way of accessing it and enabling it.
     
  19. Joel Meaney

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly I am not sure, but even if I did it would be no use because I don't have the box any more. And after every update I have had a 'Windows.old' folder, which can apparently be used as a restore point to go back to an older software version, which is what i am doing now @kemical
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hmm... I still think your going to need a disk but see how you go. Let me know how you get on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...