Windows wont let me save

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Dan868, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    im new to this site and i dont usually do this sorta thing. However i am struggling a lot with this and it is causing me to stuggle doing course work.
    When saving documents the Browse box that normally pops up wont. When i attempt to save in publisher it wont let me and comes up with the dialog box stating:
    'windows is low on memory. To free up memory, save your work and close other programs; then continue working'.

    The issue with this is not anymore programs than normal are running. This has been working fine for the past year and a half since i started using this computer

    Computer specs are as followed:
    intel i3
    3gb ram
    2gb on readyboost memory stick
    running windows seven.
    Asus laptop.
    In excess of 30gb free on windows C drive.

    I have tried increasing the page file and rebooting, as well as editing basic registry to stop windows memory issues alerting me- i have tried with and without these edits.

    This has all had no effect and even when saving a blank document the same issue occurs.

    I am running Office 2010 and i cannot seem to fix the issue. I have tried using word pad and sadly the same sort of thing happens. I have looked far and wide and any opinion or walk through to what i should do would be much appreciated!!

    Any more questions just ask. I sadly have no restore points and the last thing i did before this happen was sync my ipod and patching files ready to download 3rd party themes. I have updated antivirus and have scanned recently for viruses.
     
  2. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,042
    Likes Received:
    300
  4. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you for replying,
    i sadly use both ccleaner already and defraggler. i do this very regulary.

    I also have tried with page file on automatic and on ~4000mb

    im slightly concerned that it was working before until i ran ccleaner registry and installed a theme.

    either of these could of caused something but i doubt it as its never been an issue before. After trying to merge my backup file i made for registry changes it would come up with an error saying error accessing the registry.

    also some program will save such as photoshop
    i am set as administrator

    thanks again anyway
     
    #4 Dan868, Nov 5, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  5. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Try getting rid of your themes, auto syncing, customization, etc. Those really takes up a lot of system resources and drag the performance down specially if your system specs is not that really high to cope with everything going on in it.
     
  7. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have changed themes back and restored the patches. do i need to take them out of resources??
     
  8. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    also upon installing a free version of office- like libre office it stil doesnt work.. this is becoming difficult as i have course work due in on the end of the month...
     
  9. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I was actually suggesting that you unsinstall them. But before you do, create a restore point. So that if uninstalling them did not help (because probably of other cause of your problem), then you can restore them back easily.
     
  10. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i will let you know, thankyou

    keep the ideas coming please :)
     
  11. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    im very confident that it has been since i deleted my registry files using Ccleaner as i did it last thing on a sunday and on monday its has several unexplained issues.. sadly my system restore point from before this is missing...

    I have made a back up to registry files that where being deleted but when merging it would come up with an error saying
    ''cannot import {location}.reg: Error accessing the registry''

    Does anyone know what i can do to fix this?
     
  12. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Have you tried importing it on Safe Mode?
     
  13. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    im about to do that now! i would be lost with out you so thanks very much!

    Is there a good alternative to regedit.exe?? or is this unnessisary??
     
  14. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok it merged fine which is great, however sadly it doesn't seem to have any affect.. is there anything that i can repair or update that deals with the saving part of documents etc? like some sort of microsoft framework?
     
  15. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,042
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    If you use CCleaner's registry cleaner you should have a bunch of backup registries saved.

    You could look at restoring the registry using the built in utility in CCleaner for restoring their backups, to a point before you made the changes in it.

    If nothing else works it may be time to do a repair install, (at least in Windows 7 you can still do this, not so with W8).
    This should get everything back up and working in a half hour or so.

    It will keep all your installed software and data but replace all of the Windows OS files and take you back to default settings like a freshly installed copy of Windows.

    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

    If you go this route print out the instructions and follow them exactly especially the part about how you chose to do the reinstall, you don't want to overwrite your C:\ drive.

    Mike
     
  16. Dan868

    Dan868 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    what you once more everyone, i seriously appreciate it .
    Luckily my 3 year old laptop lives on another day and is running like new once more

    For anyone needing an answer to this issue i fixed it by booting it whilst holding F8 and accessing the repair tool.
    Here i saw the check memory for errors. I did this and then rebooted. Upon rebooting i did a start up repair (like what you get if you dont shut down properly). It repaired something or other.

    I dont know why what or how it fixed itself to be honest but i did also repaired all microsoft products that could of been related to office in any way.

    After all this it works :S

    Thanks

    Dan :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...