Windows 7 Wondering if these games work alright

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by Radenight, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Hey all,

    Just curious if anyone that is using the Windows 7 Build 6801 has tried any of the following games on it, or knows someone that has and if they are working fine or if it's useless to try them for now.

    The games in question are:

    Half Life 2
    Counterstrike 1 and Source
    Unreal Tournament 2004
    Unreal Tournament 3

    Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    I'm pretty sure UT3 works.
     
  3. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Wicked!! thanks.
     
  4. kvic

    kvic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a big game player and I'll tell you 7 has ran all the games i tried including a old favorite nascar 2003so here's my list.

    Nascar2003
    Crysis warhead
    cod 4-5
    dead space
    bully
    Testdrive unlimited
    Grid
    Farcry 2
    GTR 2
    silent hunter 4
    Blood money
     
    #4 kvic, Nov 19, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2008
  5. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    I got the Orange Box and Garry's Mod on steam and both work perfectly fine on Windows 7. I haven't tried Episode 2, but HL2, HL2 EP1, Team Fortress 2, and Portal work fine for me.
     
  6. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Awesome! Glad to hear it guys! Thanks.
     
  7. rileymd

    rileymd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Counter-strike Source works fine as well.
     
  8. Qwal

    Qwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    BF2
    Sacred 2: Fallen Angel
    Diablo beta
    Grid

    all of these work perfectly in win 7. Even old games like gta vice city work without any problems.

    Also I have two monitors, 22 Benq hd ready widescreen and philips 32 widescreen 720 p. Both working well in win 7, just need to make some tweaks to get a good refresh rate(Hertz(hz)).
     
  9. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Tomb Raider Underworld and Quantum of Solace: The Game work perfectly.
     
  10. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Once again, thanks guys! My list of games to buy is increasing more each time I check back here! :)
     
  11. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    I'd like to note that GTA 4 "works" on Windows 7 build 6956.. however it didn't work too well...(freezing, random crashes, and this was after I had to restart 3 times before it would get past the start menu) Could just be the catalyst driver though, it's only a preview driver so it still needs some work.. hopefully ATI has a solid driver by the time the beta is released! ;) Also someone with a little better cpu might have a better experience with this game on windows 7. I'm stuck with an AMD X2 5400+ (2.8GHZ, 65nm, 65W) cpu.. waiting for my Q6600 to get here. That should help a bit.
     
  12. RandysSOHC

    RandysSOHC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    what about some of us classic game lovers or low ram video card owners who has to stick with medal of honor/call of duty 2/battlefield 2/RTCW/ext....

    any of them older games work....?
     
  13. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Max Payne and CoD 1+2 work, my buddy was playing them on my pc yesterday.
     
    RandysSOHC and (deleted member) like this.
  14. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    @ Kyle
    Awesome!! I was looking through my Game binder the other day and found Max Payne! I had completely forgot that I had it.. I'll have to install it now that I know it works! :)

    I also found GTA3, I'll install that this afternoon and report back as to whether or not it works on build 6956
     
  15. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    I got Battle Field 2 demo working on Windows 7 with no problems.
     
  16. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Update:

    I tried GTA 3 several times but couldn't get it to work no matter what I did... though I'm thinking someone might have better luck a retail copy of the game ;)..
     
  17. Skin87

    Skin87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got working on Windows 7 build 7000:
    • Battlefield 2
    • Battlefield 2142
    • Flight Simulator 2004
    • Flight Simulator X
    • Splinter Cell - Pandora Tomorrow
    • Empire Earth 2
    Have a good day ya'll
    Regards,
    S.87
     
  18. Cerberus1991

    Cerberus1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any info on Fallout 3 and Oblivion on build 7000?
     
  19. catalin.novac

    catalin.novac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good day to all,

    Playing NFS Undercover (latest of the series) on my laptop with Geforce 8600m. No problems so far...:razz:

    Another very old game that works (run as admin needed): Red Alert 2
     
    #19 catalin.novac, Jan 9, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  20. garbanzo

    garbanzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    has anybody gotten Bioshock to work in 7000? it gets confused when it sees DX11 and things go kind of weird during the install. then when i run it, it freezes after the spash screen...

    maybe i should try running the installer in compatibility mode?
     

Share This Page

Loading...