WooHoo I just bought myself

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Athlonite, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    so finally you become modern - leaving a CRT behind (cough)

    post a picture from your monitor!
     
  2. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hey don't dis the crt it did well and not many CRTs did 100Hz @ 1280x768x32bpp

    but i spose it really doesn't compare to 22' of sparkly new LCD so here you go then

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    eww is it me or does that look a little fisheye lensish
     
  4. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    looks like a barrel lens for sure - hope the monitor is flat?:tongue:
     
  5. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    yup it is it's just the pic thats come out weird
     
  6. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    003.JPG

    new pic

    and blow me if i can't get it to work with the provided HDMI cable it just doesn't wanna turn on at boot time i just get this "No signal detected from HDMI monitor going into sleep mode":frown: message :confused::mad::(:frown:
     
  7. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    no turn on at boot time?

    sounds like a bios or cable issue to me. Try the DVI connection and it should work.
     
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yarp DVI be working ( as seen in pic above ) but that's not why I bought this monitor if I'd just wanted DVI I'd have bought an Viewsonic instead But this alienware monitor comes with 2x hdmi connections neither of which seems to want to work i get the same msg from both I'll shoot out now and grab another cable to try with instead of the one that came with the monitor and see how that goes
     
  9. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    well it's definitely not the monitor as it works with a borrowed DVI to HDMI cable :)but still fails with a brand new HDMI to HDMI cable :( returning the card for an RMA is probably going to be a non event as the retailer is some chink over stayer running a dodgy business in Auckland I unfortunately found this out after paying for the graphics card Which now it seems to be at fault ...... frack I'm pissed off :mad:
     
  10. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    you could maybe contact HIS in that matter and see what they say?

    you probably got an older revision of the card. However, it is not really a drama, me thinks, just use the adapter plug and it's done!

    there are more important things in life than that, no? :) heck get over it
     
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    yup i put an support request with HIS earlier on.... Drama no but at $700 for the both I'd certainly hope **** should work right when required to and not have to frack round like a blue arse fly chasing a fart in a jar to get **** to work anywho the cards still under warranty so either I'll spend 6 weeks waitin while it's gettin RMA'd or I'll just sell it and buy a new one
     
  12. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    Meh, just a little sting there and not really worth to chase a fart in a jar or to RMA it!
     
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    "Just a Little sting" hrm for you maybe but that little sting as you put it took me several months of scrimping and saving to be able to afford it
     
  14. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    well Got some new tasty silverstone FN180 LED fans for the girl now she's lit up and wonderfull

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    the only thing I'm a bit miffed about is the new fans don't come with the hi 1000rpm / lo 700rpm fan speed control like the ones that came in the case so they're stuck at 700rpm and 100cfm
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Looking good buddy...
     
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    :D yeah it is isn't it
     
  17. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,711
    Likes Received:
    379
    It is so now it looks like the future . ;)
     
  18. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    haha lol well atleast it doesn't look like the inside of the bat cave in a power cut now but rather like robin over did the xmas lights lol
     
  19. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Cool gaming at night. ; )
     
  20. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    not quite it's a very minimal glow coming out from under the case still looks cool with all the lights off though lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...