📎 AI Summary:
The thread discusses the Windows 10 update notification, with the original poster seeking advice on hiding or removing it. Contributors explain that the update cannot be permanently hidden and may interfere with future updates if deferred, though it is technically an upgrade that shouldn't delete existing programs. Concerns are also raised about features like OneDrive resetting and permissions, highlighting user uncertainty and the impact of the update process.

bigguyhawaii

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
2
Thread Author #1
I have windows 10 already installed on my pc. when I check the update it shows, upgrade to windows 10 home, version 1511, 10586, waiting for install. how do I hide it or get rid of it?
 

Solution
Unfortunately you cannot. You can defer it to a later date or stop the updates altogether but eventually if you want to continue using the update service you'll also need to install this latest version. As long as your AV is disabled the upgrade should be relatively smooth but i understand your caution.

kemical

Essential Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
36,163
Unfortunately you cannot. You can defer it to a later date or stop the updates altogether but eventually if you want to continue using the update service you'll also need to install this latest version. As long as your AV is disabled the upgrade should be relatively smooth but i understand your caution.
 

Solution

davehc

Essential Member
Premium Supporter
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
5,546
AS kemical says. But the added problem us that if you do not allow it to continue, it will probably interfere with future updates until you do.

I cannot recollect, but isn't there also a message saying something like "Restart now" or "continue"?
 

bigguyhawaii

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
2
Thread Author #4
ok the problem I have/had is that the update is called upgrade to windows 10 it actually basically a patch not an upgrade. this was confusing and made me wonder if I would have to re-download my programs and my ms office which I had to do when I went from 8.1 to 10.
 

kemical

Essential Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
36,163
Technically it is an upgrade but you won't lose anything or at least shouldn't.. :)
 

ussnorway

Windows Forum Team
Staff member
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
4,597
it does appear to turn the onedrive/ skydrive back on even if you had it disabled and you may need to regive permissions to see some network shares