7 freezes while browsing Internet

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by kasia8526, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. kasia8526

    kasia8526 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, I'm using 32-bit Windows 7. Everything seems to work fine until I browse the Internet. I've got both IE and Firefox installed and system freezes at some point of browsing through the web pages. Thought it could be something to do with my GPU so I updated to latest drivers but it didn't solve the problem. Any ideas? It's really annoying and I would like to continue using Win 7 for some time.

    Thanks in advance.

    ----------------

    Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz (2 CPUs)
    2GB RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
    Realtek HD Audio
    mobo abit AB9 Pro
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Look in Event viewer and see if you can find out more details.

    Go to Start > Run, and type eventvrw.msc and hit enter. (just copy and paste eventvrw.msc into the Run box) Now look for Windows logs and click on each one looking for Error and the Source will tell you what application is failing. Also look under Application and service logs and click on the Internet explorer entry.

    If you need help with a name, simply post back, I'll try to figure out what program it is.
     
  3. kasia8526

    kasia8526 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, there's no particular IE errors, possibly cause I use FF most of the time. There also isn't many errors that have occured overall. Maybe those will give you an indication on what's going on:

    But tbh I don't see any of those having anything to do with the system freezing.

    There's also this one that I just found in Administrative Events, occuring quite often, which might be the cause of system shutdown.

    Message after this error:

    And another one:

    I know what you're going to say, update your network card drivers. The thing is, that was the first thing I did after installing Win 7. So any other ideas?
     
    #3 kasia8526, Jan 26, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2009
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    That's lot of information to go through. What version of Windows 7 are you using?

    What information I have found relates to Windows Server.. There is no Shadow Volume Copy service in Windows 7

    Are you using any type of backup program?

    Try turning off your Anti-Virus temporarily.

    Right-click on the Network icon on the desktop, click on Change Adapter settings. How many adapter show up? Right-click on the enabled connection and make sure all check boxes are checked.

    Post back with that information and I can better assist you.
     
  5. kasia8526

    kasia8526 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using build 7000 32-bit.

    Nope.

    Will do.

    3:

    ImageShack - Image Hosting :: netkc3.jpg

    They are.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Are the adapter disabled or is the red X mean they are not connecting?

    Do you have an ethernet cable to enable one of the wired adapter?

    I had a problem with my wireless dropping connections also.

    Go to Start > Run , type in cmd, hit enter, then type ipconfig /all and see if you have an active connection and the the IP is correct.
     
  7. kasia8526

    kasia8526 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably not connecting cause they are there by default. I've only set up the wireless connection on my own. Is it safe to delete them from the list?

    No, I don't use any ethernet cable, the only connection I've got is through a wirless router.

    I'll try config when I get home, but would dropping connection could be a reason for the system freezing?
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    When I checked mine, there was no option to delete. I'd simply leave them diabled
     
  9. kasia8526

    kasia8526 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks for your replies reghakr. System doesn't seem to crash so far. I'll post if I have anymore problems, but thanks for now, it seems to be stable :).
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    No proble, glad to help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...