Windows 7 7264 has leaked in both flavors

Discussion in 'Windows News' started by blackroseMD1, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. xgman

    xgman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm . . well let us know if you find out. By the way, how do you re-arm it?

    Someone is reporting 7279 also. Windows 7 Build 7279 Screens and 7264 Leaked | Tech Invaders I wish they would just cut the RTM loose already since I will end up with a technet key for that one but that could even be weeks before anything shows up.
     
    #21 xgman, Jun 30, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
  2. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    7279 is fake. As for the activation workaround, it has something to do with replacing the activation files with ones from an earlier RC build. However, I have no idea what those files are, or where to find them.

    Edit: From Chris123NT:

     
    #22 blackroseMD1, Jun 30, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
  3. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Ah yes the old Vista trick.. Your screen for 7264 is everywhere.
     
  4. POSER

    POSER New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. the rearm trick is simple.
    a. enter a cmd prompt with administrator priv
    b. type slmgr -rearm
    c. press enter

    if you then enter: slmgr /dli & enter at cmd prompt... it will display current license/activation info

    2. has token.dat workaround been confirmed?
     
  5. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    token.dat seems to be working for some people, but I can't get it to work. I think it might have something to do with the differences in x86 and x64
     
  6. POSER

    POSER New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    x64 typically has more difficulties. Have you tried using token.dat from other builds (maybe original 7100 RC)? Do we have a confirmed x64 activation or is everything been 32bit thus far?

    thanks as always.
     
  7. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28

    I'm pretty sure all the activations so far are x86. Guess us x64ers are stuck with rearms. Yeah, I have tried with other builds, not 7100 though. If you want to give it a go, let me know how it turns out.

    Edit: x64 RS links now available. Sorry it took so long. PM me if ya want em. I should be up another couple hours.
     
    #27 blackroseMD1, Jul 1, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  8. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I havent had a chance to install 7264 yet but with Vista you had to replace the pkeyconfig in both the system32 and syswow64 folders for it to work. Maybe try that?
     
    #28 loathe, Jul 1, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  9. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28

    Thanks for that loathe. I had already tried that, but it didn't work. However, a friend on another forum sent me a set of the files that finally worked. I'm now activated. :D
     
  10. volkerd

    volkerd Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    WZor have a (supposedly working) how-to and .bat-script on their site.
    I am downloading as I write this, at reasonable speed, but I'll stick with my stable 7232X64, I think...
     
  11. piit

    piit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    10
    Mate, would you mind sharing the list? A lot of people here would definitely appreciate it, including me ;)

    Cheers!
    Pete
     
  12. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    I'm about to crash out, but if you PM me, I will send you a link to the files that I used. By the way, the files are for activating the x64 version.
     
  13. hawkeye2008

    hawkeye2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    link please

    could some one please send me a link to the ftp for the x64 version ..
    many thanks
    ian (UK)
     
  14. MiMA

    MiMA New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd appreciate it to. PM me pls. :)
     
  15. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    We are so close now to the actual release date (7 weeks or so), and with the discounted versions available then, I think I'll just stick with my present version (7201) as everything is working just fine at the moment :)
     
  16. xgman

    xgman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't want to chance that this activation method may interfere with an upgrade install of the real RTM?
     
  17. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    You won't be able to upgrade from any of these builds to the final RTM, only from Vista. You will have to do a clean install to move from one of these Windows 7 builds to RTM.
     
  18. xgman

    xgman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not convinced you won't be able to run an in place upgrade from at least the 7229 rtm line. Maybe not, but I suspect there may be a way. I'll use a technet ver once they post it and see. If not maybe someone will figure it out like they figured out the activation trick for 7264. I have a nice stable carefully tweaked 7229 now and I would like to preserve it if possible
     
  19. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    It's always possible that you might be able to use the trick that Sinofsky posted on the E7 blog, but I would think MS would have figured out a way to block that by the time RTM comes out. We'll see, I guess.
     
  20. xgman

    xgman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seem to recall upgrade installing from Vista RC to Final msdn version back in the day. Maybe it's wishful thinking
     

Share This Page

Loading...