Windows 7 7264 has leaked in both flavors

Discussion in 'Windows News' started by blackroseMD1, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. PcBoyGeorge

    PcBoyGeorge Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    5
    You do relize 7201 is not full. The reason there is bugs like the media player bug is that this was not a full build and had more bugs than other builds and lacked features.

    7229 is the best :D
     
  2. Josh the Nerd

    Josh the Nerd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Why would they block their own workaround?
     
  3. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    The only reason they put it out there in the first place was so that people could upgrade from beta 7000 to RC 7100. They may not block it, but that would mean you would have a bunch of people upgrading from various builds to RTM, which could mean all kinds of bugs popping up, and people getting upset over that. Of course, that would also mean that anyone that knows the workaround could just buy the upgrade disc instead of the full retail.
     
  4. strgzr

    strgzr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please, May I also share the Ftp?
    And 'Thanks!' For this forum. It has helped me greatly with My 7 experience. :)
     
  5. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    By the way guys, 7264 E version is out now. lol
     
  6. gws

    gws New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8

    You better get me that link right away :eek:


    hahahaha

    gws
     
  7. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    lol, I'm looking for it. Seems kind of pointless to me though, seeing as how you can remove IE from all Win7 builds now.
     
  8. Josh the Nerd

    Josh the Nerd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2

    Steven Sinofsky said "These same steps will be required as we transition from the RC milestone to the RTM milestone."

    They have the same problem with people illegitimately using the clean install with upgrade media trick.
     
  9. xgman

    xgman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    At that level, buying the upgrade disk is the least of M$'s problem as these folks that think that far are likely not to buy anything.
     
  10. gws

    gws New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
    BlackroseMD1

    Check your PM

    gws
     
  11. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    WZOR Bat File

    I tried the WZOR Bat file and it didn't work for me. At one point I had an illegal copy of Win7 but I was able to activate using the instructions earlier in this thread.
     
  12. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Using the Upgrade Media to perform a clean install is not wrong in any way.. Sure you can argue this but hey, Microsoft programmed it to be able to do that so the way I see it is if they didn't want people doing that with it than they shouldn't have made it so damn easy to figure out for one thing.. ;) I think this "trick" is their silent way of admitting that they charge WAY to much for Windows, period... ;)
     
    #52 Radenight, Jul 1, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  13. POSER

    POSER New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I disagree... I think they get exactly what the market will bare. Where I do agree... is that they tacitly "approve" or these workarounds (and also stuff like bootstrap OEM emulators)... because ultimately, they make big $$$ on enterprise rollouts and pre-assembled pcs; and love the market penetration.
     
  14. Josh the Nerd

    Josh the Nerd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    The process is not inherently wrong. Using it illegitimately, i.e. without an older Windows license, is wrong.
     
  15. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    And why exactly is it wrong?

    If it truly was "wrong" than Microsoft wouldn't have made it so you could do it that way would they... ;) It's one of those grey areas really..

    I just don't see how if you installed Windows 7 (via clean install) than upgrade that install with Windows 7 again is wrong...

    It states that you have to have a valid Windows installation to upgrade right? Ok, well Windows 7 is a valid Windows installation.. so how is it wrong?.. ;)
     
    #55 Radenight, Jul 1, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  16. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I look at it this way. If Microsoft are going to give you everything you need to do it, why wouldnt you?
     
  17. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Exactly.. :)
     
  18. Josh the Nerd

    Josh the Nerd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Because what you buy is a license to upgrade your existing Windows license to Windows 7. The copy of Windows 7 is just a convenience for those that are licensed to run it. Using copyrighted without a license to run it is considered piracy.

    Microsoft also "made it so" you can install Windows Vista Ultimate from the Windows Vista Home Basic DVD and run it 30 days. They even
    "made it so" you can make additional copies of Windows that can be run for 30 days, and back in the Windows Me days, they "made it so" you can use those extra copies as long as you want. Are these right in your eyes?
     
    #58 Josh the Nerd, Jul 1, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  19. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    But your missing the point here.. Ok, you said all your buying is a license, yes I agree with you. But Microsoft states that in order to Upgrade you must have a valid (NOT ACTIVATED) copy of Windows installed first, right? Ok, well if you take your Upgrade Media and do a clean install (which you can't activate but you can run for 30 days) you now have a valid Windows installation, right? Ok, than you use the same Upgrade media to install Windows again, but this time your going to do the Upgrade.. And since you already have a valid Windows installation you can now activate the "Upgrade" your installing overtop of the clean install... How is this wrong? You bought the Upgrade Media so it's not like you are using a downloaded version.. Your not activating the Clean Install that you did first, your activating the Upgrade install that you did second.. ;)

    I'm not talking about making more copies or installing Vista Ultimate off of a Vista Home Basic disc.. I'm talking about using the Upgrade Media to perform a clean install.. THAT to me is NOT wrong... ;)
     
    #59 Radenight, Jul 1, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  20. Josh the Nerd

    Josh the Nerd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    No. That initial unlicensed full install is invalid. The fact that you can't activate it is a side effect of it not being valid.
     

Share This Page

Loading...