A Program Has Stopped Working Message Displayed

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by EDDiCTS, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. EDDiCTS

    EDDiCTS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got window 7 ultimate,32bit intel core2 with 2gb of ram.
    I Notice this problem yesterday morning when i tried to open Adobe Photoshop CS4,It gave me an error which is "Photoshop has stopped working and some blah blah..".I thought it was a normal problem so i closed and restart it back then it gave me the same error,try to solve it but it gave me worst nightmare and now all of my ADOBE program like illustrator giving me the same error and not only adobe products cuz today i checked some of my program giving the same error like java platform,yahoo msgr etc wont start and gave me the same error which is "blah blah has stopped working" WTF??
    i noticed that i couldn't UNINSTALL the program cuz the error giving me the headache.Can someone here please gave me the suggestion and help me in this worst matter to solved it?:(

    Best Regards
    EDDiCTS
     
  2. Firecracker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    4
    I recommend reinstall Windows, It did to me too and when I reinstalled it went away. Do you have an Anti-Virus program? (YOU SHOULD) and scan your computer first and see if it fixes it. otherwise reinstall.
     
  3. EDDiCTS

    EDDiCTS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im using nod32 and already scan it but it found none suspicious files.REINSTALL windows???Gosh..I wish i did but i dont have external hard disk to make a backup of my files such as my vids,mp3's,images etc..Any other method to vanish this problem away?please help
     
  4. sameh83

    sameh83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try these steps !
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Firecracker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    4
    Unless others can help us, I recommend Reinstall windows, you can use an external hard disk, a normal spare Hard Drive (formatted), a large flash drive, CDs, DVD's or my favorite Blu-Ray Disks to backup. or I forgot try to repair the windows installation which keeps programs and settings and other files but fixes the windows files if their is any missing or damaged.

    Edit: My opitnion get an external hard disk, they are very cheap and you will always use it, even keep all your music, Videos and Photos ect. on it.
     
    #5 Firecracker, Sep 18, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2010
  6. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Do a search here on how to do a repair install.
    Joe
     
  7. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    Before you do a repair install make sure your computer is clean.

    Run SuperAntiSpyware, CCleaner, and Malewarebytes, all are free to download.
    I'm betting you will find something. If there is some evil invader it may still be there after a repair.

    Once you have cleaned out anything that these programs find then run a repair install from the Windows DVD.
    When you get it up and running again get a external hard drive, they are cheap now, and back everything up.

    You can use Windows System Backup or an 3rd party program like Ghost, but do a complete System Backup.

    Mike
     
  8. sameh83

    sameh83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want to check the integrity of the system files,,,i suggest you run the SFC command !

    1: start>all programs>accessories
    2: Right click on Command Prompt
    3: Run as Administrator
    4:Type without quotes "sfc /scannow"

    It will take about 20 minutes to check the original system files and replace any broken or missing files !

    Afterwards, I advice you to download Anti-Malwarebytes (free) update the virus database and run it to be sure !

    Good luck
     
  9. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Yeah external hard drives are now cheap but take care when selecting one. Avoid the Western Digital drives that have Smartware included. It's a crappy backup program and there is a virtual CD that cannot be deleted. There are a lot of problems with Smartware and firmware that is on the virtual CD. They haven't been very helpful in solving the problem either.
    Joe
     
  10. EDDiCTS

    EDDiCTS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    So frustrated these thing keep displayed on my freaking screen,It wont allow me to do UNINSTALL and INSTALL a single sh!t on my lappy..was it a malware??
     
  11. sameh83

    sameh83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Firecracker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    4
    Shounds like he won't even beable to install anything like that with those things comming up all the time, Just repair or reinstall then. Before you do can you take the hard drive out and plug it into another desk top PC? Did you know you can do this if the laptop HDD has SATA Interface, Just hook it up to the pc and scan it..
     
    #12 Firecracker, Sep 18, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2010
  13. sameh83

    sameh83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try booting in Safe mode with internet and download the anti-malwarebyte ! You should have access to everything from Safe mode, minus all the extra startup programs !
     
  14. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Sounds like you got one of those fake antivirus programs that disable stuff.
    Joe
     
  15. CommonTater

    CommonTater New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ok, you might want to try this...

    Go to a different computer... download this

    http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/eek/

    While still on the other computer, install this onto a flash drive and run all the online updates.

    Now head on over to your own computer with this software on the pendrive, boot into safe mode and run the emergency kit.

    Do the full scan... it will take a while.

    I'm betting it finds at least one trojan dropper and one virus... Of course it will find all kinds of tracking cookies, suspect programs, bad registry keys etc.

    Delete whatever suspect content it finds.
    Let me know how your machine works after...


    (FWIW... after seeing what this can do, I removed all AV software from my computer and now use this exclusively.)
     
    #15 CommonTater, Sep 19, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  16. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Tater
    It sounds like one of the fake antivirus things I got last year. I shutdown immediately and got into safe mode and got it cleaned out. others weren't so lucky it just seemed to eat up programs.
    Joe
     
  17. CommonTater

    CommonTater New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hi Joe... that's why I'm recommending he run the EMISoft Emergency Kit (Previously known as A-Squared). This is an extremely comprehensive scan for malware, trojans, viruses, spyware, adware, cookies and all... If it's in there the emergency kit will find it.

    I figured it's a fake message. When a program crashes on Win7 you usually get a very different message than that.
     
  18. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    If I had to guess I would say it's malware.
    A friend of mine had something similar on his computer a month or so ago.
    Killed his internet connection too.

    We ran the anti-maleware stuff in Safe Mode from a memory stick that I brought to his house.
    It got rid of the Trojan but we still ended up reinstalling Windows XP on his machine.

    If none of the stuff suggested up to this point worked then it's time to put in the DVD and see if you can reinstall.

    If you can access Windows Explorer copy all your important stuff to some external source.
    DVDs, Memory Stick, an external drive. Don't forget address books, favorites, photos, music, etc.

    Don't use any of the Software that comes with the external hard drives, just plug it in and copy the stuff to it.

    Use your own software to do your backups. I have both Maxor, and LaCie external drives and haven't had problems with either. I never installed the software that came with either of them.

    Mike
     
  19. maryrob2010

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great help, I was in need for it. Thanks all....
     
  20. EDDiCTS

    EDDiCTS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Love this part of community..Thanks a million guys!! :)

    Best Regards
    EDDiCTS
     

Share This Page

Loading...