Acer One ZG5 with Win7 having connectivity issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by bcarvalho, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. bcarvalho

    bcarvalho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I bought this acer one with windows xp installed from factory, then after my windows crashed I decided to install win7 on it, everything seemed to go smooth, then i noticed that any time I tried connecting to the internet whether it was wired, wireless, or using my verizon usb modem, it would first show me that the internet was being identified, then it would show the ! sign, and after a good 3 minutes I would finally be able to surf the web or have w/e kind of connectivity. I've searched the internet but had no luck coming up with an answer.

    My settings are the following:
    -Acer One ZG5
    -All my adapter settings are set to the default, using dhcp.
    -Im using win 7 pro GENUINE


    BTW this was ever since win 7 was installed... I had no problems with xp... And I dont plan on going back to Win XP, unless its very necessary....

    Thanks in advance
    Bruno
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello Bruno and welcome,

    What type of disk did you use to install Windows 7?

    Did you upgrade or perform a "clean" install?
     
  3. bcarvalho

    bcarvalho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used ISO pulled from MSDN, and performed a clean install

    Thanks
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Go here and select your particular Netbook and then the Operating System it requires the A0nnn information to determine whether or not there are windows 7 drivers available for your device. If there are, then make sure you update everything available, paying particular attention to bios, chipset, video, audio, as well as your wired and wireless cards.
    Also consider what third party software product you have running like firewalls and AntiVirus / Security Suites that may be creating some problems. Also open task manager and select the processes tab and check the box that says show processess for all users and see if you have anything running called mdnsresponder.exe. If it's present, post make with a confirmation and we'll get you some information on how to deal with it.
    http://us.acer.com/acer/service.do?LanguageISOCtxParam=en&miu10einu24.current.attN2B2F2EEF=3750&sp=page15e&ctx2.c2att1=25&miu10ekcond13.attN2B2F2EEF=3750&CountryISOCtxParam=US&ctx1g.c2att92=453&ctx1.att21k=1&CRC=2054404012
     
  5. bcarvalho

    bcarvalho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just noticed this, when I turn on the computer, and it shows that there is connectivity, if I input www google com it takes about 3 min for it to finally take me to the page, but if I input google's ip 74.125.67.104 it will take me directly to google's page..... I've tried to set the dns manually, but still the same thing. So it seems to be a name resolution issue. I just dont know how to go about fixing this....

    @Trouble, I have the Acer One AOA150, there is no support for win7 on their page, but all the drivers were installed during win7 installation... Im not running any antivirus, windows firewall is set to off, and I did not find the process mdnsresponder.exe.

    thanks
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Sorry to hear that, because I suspect you are on the mark regarding the DNS name resolution point and mdnsresponder.exe is often the culprit when that problem occurs.
    Open services console by typing services.msc into the search box and hitting enter
    Look at the very first entry at the top of the list of services, is it some strange looking string consisting of number and characters like##Id_String2.6844F930_1628_4223_B5CC_5BB94B8 79762 ##
    that's another indication of mdnsresponder running, if it's there double click and set it to disable as a start up type and click the stop button.
    Also check for Bonjour service, if it's there same thing
     
  7. bcarvalho

    bcarvalho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neither of them....

    Thanks
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You're welcome and sorry.
    Try safemode with networking see if the problem persists. It may provide some insights as to whether or not something running at startup is causing your problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...