Windows 10 Anyone attempted to play with the new Game DVR?

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Trouble, Jul 20, 2015.

  1. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Just discovered this and recorded a very boring instance of Spider Solitaire, but at least it works.
    Not sure how robust it is at this point, nor if it even works on third party games, but I thought it was at least interesting that it was included natively.
    I thought maybe some real gamers might have had an opportunity to experiment a bit and let me know if it sucks or possibly has some potential down the road.
    SOURCE: How to Record PC Gameplay With Windows 10’s Game DVR and Game Bar
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Just tried it with the Witcher 3 but it refused to play. Works fine in browsers but that's kinda missing the point somewhat. Seems like it needs work?
     
  3. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I just gave it a try in Freecell...
    I'll try it in Witcher tomorrow and see if it works.



    It seems to automatically stop recording when the game ends, it didn't show the score window, which showed 36 out of 36 wins.

    I've done 100 straight twice now.
    At 77 this is how I keep my brain working.
    When I start losing I'll know I'm going down hill. LOL

    Fraps doesn't seem to work with Windows 10, at least not for me.
    I was trying it with The Witcher 3 earlier today.

    Mike
     
  4. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    Back again, I tried game capture in The Witcher 3 and it worked.



    The video came out looking pretty good, a little too dark so I had to open it in Premiere and use autocorrect to get the color to look right but after that it looked spot on.

    I should have shot the video in the daylight.

    Mike
     
  5. Paul Simpson

    Paul Simpson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    8
    I tried it but windows said my hd 6970 x 2 is not supported. Only 7 series and 4000 intel graphics. Surely this can be sorted so lower end cards work as well.?
     
  6. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I'm running a Nvidia Geforce 680 Video Card, and not having any issues.
    Where did you see the message, about not being supported?

    Have any idea what they are talking about when they say "Record Game in Background"?
    I had this turned off, but I've turned it on now.

    I don't quite get why you'd be recording a game in the background?
    Wouldn't you be playing it when you are recording? LOL

    Mike

    I found this...

    According to Microsoft, game DVR capabilities are only available if the following video cards are installed in the machine.

    • AMD Radeon HD 7000 series, HD 7000M series, HD 8000 series, HD 8000M series, R9 or R9 series.
    • NVIDIA GeForce 600 or higher, Geforce 800M or higher, Quadro Kxxx or higher
     
    #6 MikeHawthorne, Jul 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...