Black screen of death.. HELP

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Sameer Sam, May 26, 2014.

  1. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI,

    I am getting frequents black screen of deaths.

    Very few times, what I see is Black screen while working on After effects or browsing internet or watching movies, today I got 2 black screen while playing multilayer MW3 and even on Batman.

    What it does?
    The screen goes black and CPU is running. Keyboard lights goes off.
    1 in 10 times I see that whole system gets restarted again.

    Graphic driver is latest updated.
    CPU temp are 30-34 C idle and 45 C while playing games
    Mobo temps around 38 C normal, 50 while playing games.
    RAM are okay in MemTest.

    I recently tested my system with Performance test with all test and it shows result as 2022.4
    http://s29.postimg.org/icsp0avav/Untitled.png


    What can be the issue of black screens?

    I checked my CPU it has black lines.. See images.
    I tried to rub it with cloth and it was getting off, is that dust? Will that effect? If yes, then how can I clean it in a better way? Is this CPU is issue?

    http://s28.postimg.org/74qwvz9h9/DSC_0003.jpg
    http://s28.postimg.org/eainyfikd/DSC_0007.jpg


    My system specs:
    Mobo: ASUS M4A88T-M
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE
    CPU Cooler: CM Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti DS Superclocked
    PSU: Seasonic Gold X 650W
    2 HDD
    12gigs RAM

    Dump files:
    http://1drv.ms/1nL0qVj
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi,
    I did try and read your dump files which showed a bugcheck 124 which points to a hardware fault or error. Unfortunately I'm not seeing your unloaded drivers in the dump files. Can you change your settings so they are like this:

    Go to Start and type in sysdm.cpl and press Enter

    Click on the Advanced tab

    Click on the Startup and Recovery Settings button

    Ensure that Automatically restart is unchecked

    Under the Write Debugging Information header select Small memory dump (256 kB) in the dropdown box

    Ensure that the Small Dump Directory is listed as %systemroot%\Minidump << where your .dmp files can be
    found later.

    Click OK twice to exit the dialogs, then reboot for the changes to take effect.

    Please read this thread here on how to upload the info we need:
    http://windowsforum.com/threads/how-to-ask-for-help-with-a-bsod-problem.38837/

    Post any new dump files after making the above changes. Also sometimes a bugcheck 124 can be generated by an out of date bios. Check yours is up to date by visiting the motherboard web page:
    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M4A88TM/HelpDesk_Download/

    I've also moved your thread to the correct section.
     
  3. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I have updated what you suggested and will send you latest dump files when it create.

    What I see mostly is that whenever I give a load, like for example while rendering a video in After effects or convert the losless avi file in Vegas Movie it shows the black screen.
    I have removed my Nvidia GPU and now I am on stock motherboard GPU for a while to check. But it still goes black.
    I think it does not generate the dump files as I need to hit the power button for a while to make the PC shut down? Maybe new dumps are not there because of this?

    Can it be because of faulty PSU? I am quite confused it does not goes black when I was running performance monitor.
    And while watching movies it goes off. Quite strange :(
     
  4. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never updated BIOS, can you help me in that if possible?
    One of my friend says that you can mess up with your system if you was unable to update BIOS successfully. Is that true?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are the other files which you asked for.

    Let me know if I need to send anything else.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa800ae888f8, 0, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : AuthenticAMD
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    checking through the files you sent I notice you have the latest bios anyway. :)

    I also checked through your driver list and noticed this:

    xusb21 Xbox 360 Wireless Rece Kernel 8/14/2009: This relates to your Xbox wireless driver and the 2009 version is known for causing bsods in win 7 please update:
    http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-gb/d/xbox-360-wireless-controller-for-windows

    Please remove Avira and install MSE as it's more stable:
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/security/pc-security/mse.aspx

    Please download and run a scan using this anti malware app:
    https://www.malwarebytes.org/

    Post any new dump files.

    Have the bsod's stopped now you've removed the gpu?
     
  7. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    Thanks for letting me know that I have latest BIOS.

    I have MSE as well as Avira, but now I have removed Avira.

    I have Malware Anti Bytes and scanned from it, nothing got from that.

    About that XBOX controller, I have installed the xbox controller today, previously I was using this software.. https://code.google.com/p/x360ce/source/browse/trunk/x360ce/Support/XInputTest.exe?r=574

    But it is just exe, it does not install anything. Is this is the problem?
     
  8. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I missed a question, no I still have BSOD after removing GPU.

    Let me tell you more about my situation.

    Few minutes back I tried rendering a template in Adobe After Effects, I do not know if you know the working of it. I added a template to render it and after 100 frame and sometimes after 50 frames, I see black screen. I have also seen the same when I was converting lossless avi in Sony Vegas.
    I was playing Batman and after 4-7 minutes I got black screen. Happens after playing 20 minutes of multiplayer MW3.
    2-3 days before, I was watching a movie and got black screen.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    An 'exe' is just the installer. Did you actually download the file? As stated above, 2009 version of Xbox wifi controller is well known among debugger circles for causing bsod please update.

    See if windows is corrupt by running the system file checker. Open start menu and find command prompt. Right click on it and choose run as admin. Type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results.

    Try re-installing your gpu drivers (onboard too). Use this app to remove all gpu drivers and any old bits of driver file:
    http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/
    Install latest version for your set up:
    http://support.amd.com/en-us

    Post any new dump files.
     
  10. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have downloaded this and this is not a installer, it runs without install.
    https://code.google.com/p/x360ce/source/browse/trunk/x360ce/Support/XInputTest.exe?r=574

    I have done with sfc /scannow, attached is its result.
    Message was :
    Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of th
    em.
    Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example
    C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log


    I will do with display driver soon and let you know result.

    Again, I got 2 BSOD few minutes back and no new files was created in MiniDump folder.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    This way takes a while to update bios but is safe. I have been doing this since flashing my bios did not succeed. This link will tell you how to do it.

    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/46707-ms-dos-bootable-flash-drive-create.html
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  13. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    I have got my hands on Multi Meter and tested for Voltage.
    On yellow it keeps at 12.42 most of the time and goes sometimes 12.43.
    On red, it is stable 5.12.

    So my PSU is good?
     
  14. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi Sameer,
    are you still getting blue screens? I'm unsure about what wires are which in PSU's but those figures sound about right. Have you checked to see if your monitor needs a certain driver or there is a firmware update?
    Try stressing the gpu using this app:
    http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/

    If the screen goes black or you blue screen then it could be down to your gpu.
     
  16. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    I am on a stock GPU now, should I do that?
    I am not getting blue screen, but black screen. Please check my first message again. And yes, I am still getting black screen.
    It looks to me a hardware issue, as when I was in safe mode, and I tried compressing some file using winrar and winzip I got black screen.
     
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Strange as winzip and winrar aren't graphically intensive but try furmark anyway. I understand your getting a black screen I just wondered if the blue screens (bsod) were still occurring.
    Can you remember when these events first started? Did you install anything new around that time or make any changes?
     
  18. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    I had blue screen few months back and it was because of RAM. And I removed that and my blue screen stopped.
    Now it started before 15-20 days. And these days whenever I use any intensive program it happens.
    Whenever I render a video or edit a image in photoshop it happens.
    I am not getting blue screen now but just black screen and sometimes whole system goes off.
    I have pin my 6 tabs in chrome and when I opened it, the black screen occur.

    I have tested my RAM and PSU, so maybe mobo?
    And have you seen my CPU pins, In attached image in my first post?
     
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  20. Sameer Sam

    Sameer Sam Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay, I will run those both.

    I also managed to reinstall a fresh copy of windows in new HDD, and when I run the After Effects and render a video, the screen goes black. So I guess no driver is causing this error. It will be hardware, correct?
     

Share This Page

Loading...