BLUE screen when playing a game

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by aboona777, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    my PC has recently started crashing when i play games.
    i dont think i installed something that may have altered the registry state or something, but i used to play games without any problems before. A couple of times even crashed while viewing a movie on VLC!!

    the blue screen doesnt say much about what the error might be, sorry i dont have a snapshot, but it does mention some file "nvxxx.xxx", and the logs mention stuff about video display errors and such.

    my PC is relatively new, Core i7, 6GB RAM, and 1GB nvidia card.
    video driver is up to date, and i have run out of ideas on trouble shooting this problem!

    PLZ HELP !!
    any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.

    p.s. i would post the dump files or any other logs if needed, as soon as i can find a place to host those files.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  3. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx
    guess i missed that..
     

    Attached Files:

  4. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    CPU-Z screen shots
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpu.
      cpu.jpg
      File size:
      135.2 KB
      Views:
      422
    • spd.
      spd.jpg
      File size:
      113.3 KB
      Views:
      328
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Let's start by getting rid of Norton/Symantec products and then go from there.
    Uninstall using the programs uninstaller if available in the programs directory, otherwise use the programs and features applet in the control panel. Follow that up by running the vendor specific proprietary removal tool.
    Consider replacing it with MSE
    If Blue Screens persist after removing, please post new dump files here.
    Ideally since memory corruption is mention in a few of your dump files, we'll need all the tabs from CPUz, including all the slots that are populated with memory under the SPD tab. Use the snipping tool to capture the screen shots, put them all in a folder and zip it up and attach it.
     
  6. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    i appreciate your help so far, but my pc has just crashed yet again while playing a game.
    i did as u suggested last time, by removing Norton antivirus and installing MSE.

    attached are the new dump file, along with snapshots of cpuz (all 3 memory slots under SPD are exactely the same, so i included just one).

    thanx again
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You still have a couple older drivers installed that might need addressing (updated, removed/uninstalled, or renamed)
    wdcsam64.sys 4/16/2008 Western Digital external storage driver
    tifsfilt.sys 9/12/2008 and timntr.sys 9/12/2008 Both associated with a old version of Acronis True Image
    But since four out of the last five dump files identifies either memory corruption or memory management issues, I would suggest giving MemTest86 a go. Download ISO (middle of page) burn it to CD and boot from CD, test memory sticks individually 7 passes. Confirm a good stick and use it to test individual slots.
    DUMP:
    Code:
    ......
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck D1, {fffff880074b8775, 2, 1, fffff880017486df}
    
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption
    
    Followup: memory_corruption
    ---------
    
    3: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (d1)
    An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
    interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high.  This is usually
    caused by drivers using improper addresses.
    If kernel debugger is available get stack backtrace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fffff880074b8775, memory referenced
    Arg2: 0000000000000002, IRQL
    Arg3: 0000000000000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation
    Arg4: fffff880017486df, address which referenced memory
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    WRITE_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff800036c4100
     fffff880074b8775 
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  2
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    tcpip!IpNlpQuerySessionInfo+f
    fffff880`017486df c883ec20        enter   0EC83h,20h
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  CODE_CORRUPTION
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xD1
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  uTorrent.exe
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  fffff880074c7270 -- (.trap 0xfffff880074c7270)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=fffff8800182d0d0 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=fffff880074c7440
    rdx=fffffa80063f3910 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff880017486df rsp=fffff880074c7400 rbp=0000000000000001
     r8=fffff880074c7400  r9=0000000000000000 r10=0000000000000014
    r11=fffff880074c73f0 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0         nv up ei pl zr na po nc
    tcpip!IpNlpQuerySessionInfo+0xf:
    fffff880`017486df c883ec20        enter   0EC83h,20h
    Resetting default scope
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff800034911e9 to fffff80003491c40
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`074c7128 fffff800`034911e9 : 00000000`0000000a fffff880`074b8775 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000001 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`074c7130 fffff800`0348fe60 : ffff0000`06c8906b fffff880`0174dce0 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`08bcbcf0 : nt!KiBugCheckDispatch+0x69
    fffff880`074c7270 fffff880`017486df : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff880`01748941 : nt!KiPageFault+0x260
    fffff880`074c7400 fffff880`01748941 : fffffa80`08bcbcf0 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000000 : tcpip!IpNlpQuerySessionInfo+0xf
    fffff880`074c7420 fffff880`0174ce8b : fffffa80`08bcbcf0 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000017 : tcpip!TcpUpdatePathInfoTcb+0x181
    fffff880`074c7540 fffff880`0174f3ac : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`08bcbcf0 fffffa80`08bcbcf0 : tcpip!TcpContinueCreateAndConnect+0x10b
    fffff880`074c7640 fffff880`0174ed83 : fffffa80`08566d80 fffffa80`08bcbcf0 00000000`00000002 fffffa80`08bcbf48 : tcpip!TcpCreateAndConnectTcbInspectConnectRequestComplete+0x5c
    fffff880`074c7670 fffff880`0174f2c6 : 00000000`00004f89 00000000`00004f89 fffffa80`07016b20 00000000`00000000 : tcpip!TcpCreateAndConnectTcbWorkQueueRoutine+0x273
    fffff880`074c7740 fffff880`0470e21e : fffffa80`05c90a00 fffff880`074c7ca0 fffffa80`05f6e2f0 fffffa80`0978d580 : tcpip!TcpCreateAndConnectTcb+0x4c6
    fffff880`074c7830 fffff800`037aca97 : fffffa80`0978d580 fffffa80`05c90a00 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`05f6e2f0 : afd!AfdConnect+0x6be
    fffff880`074c7a10 fffff800`037ad2f6 : fffff880`074c7bf8 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000001 00000000`03612ea0 : nt!IopXxxControlFile+0x607
    fffff880`074c7b40 fffff800`03490ed3 : fffff880`074c7ca0 fffffa80`088d1060 fffff880`074c7bf8 00000000`00000001 : nt!NtDeviceIoControlFile+0x56
    fffff880`074c7bb0 00000000`75052e09 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
    00000000`024bf0f8 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x75052e09
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    CHKIMG_EXTENSION: !chkimg -lo 50 -d !tcpip
        fffff880017486df - tcpip!IpNlpQuerySessionInfo+f
        [ 48:c8 ]
    1 error : !tcpip (fffff880017486df)
    
    MODULE_NAME: memory_corruption
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  memory_corruption
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  memory_corruption
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0
    
    MEMORY_CORRUPTOR:  ONE_BIT
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_MEMORY_CORRUPTION_ONE_BIT
    
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_MEMORY_CORRUPTION_ONE_BIT
    
    Followup: memory_corruption
    
    
    Gonna talk with a couple of the other Blue Screen folks on this forum and see what they think, it looks like there may a small issue with your memory timings and I want to get their opinions. We could use the images from all the slots under the SPD tab that are populated with memory sticks, only saw one 2 gig stick.
     
  8. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah about the SPD, all 3 memory slots are exactly the same, so i just added one.
    i will add the rest anyway.

    thanx again
     
  9. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again,

    I booted the PC with the ISO file, and ran the test.
    First time, 30 minutes into the test, it displayed over 22,000 errors. But it stopped after that! It never completed the test!
    I restarted and ran it again. 2 minutes into the test, it showed 6,000 errors and also stopped!
    I restarted again, booted from the CD, and ran the test completely. This time no errors at all!
    ( i didn't run the test on each stick individually, 7 passes, like u said, cuz i didnt know how. It automatically ran when booted.)

    Last time i got BSOD. windows suggested running a memory test. It ran 2 passes. no errors!

    I will gladly run the test again tomorrow to confirm the results.

    p.s. attached are 3 snapshots for SPD slots.
     

    Attached Files:

    • SPD.rar
      File size:
      169.1 KB
      Views:
      165
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    In your latest group of images SPD Slot #2 is not reflecting that it is populated with a ram stick.
    Additionally can you download and run RAMMon export the html report to your desktop. Zip it up and attach please.
    Thanks
    Randy
     
  11. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    194
    Hi

    After looking through your cpu-z shots your memory timings are a little out. Can you go to the bios and set : -

    your timings to 1600 8-8-8 24 Trc 41 and Command rate to 2T and the ddr voltage to 1.650v or if you have the option set xmp profile to enabled which will do this automatically.

    The manual for your motherboard should tell you where these settings are if not, supply me the board ake and model and I'll talk you through it :)

    NmsUK
     
    #11 nmsuk, Oct 21, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  12. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    i attached the SPD snapshots for slots 1, 3, 5. Also, HTML file for RAMMon.

    plz let me know if there is anything else i should be getting to help you solve this issue.

    much appreciated
     

    Attached Files:

  13. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    i will give this a try, but do u really think that it is a memory issue?
    cuz ever since i got the PC about 10 months ago i had no problem doing anything.
    the BSOD has only been happening about the previous 2 months only.
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    To run the test on individual sticks of ram, you have to physically control how many sticks are present in the system when you run the test, by removing or adding sticks to various slots as needed.
    As far as your question as to whether or not it might be memory? I would follow what Nmsuk has suggested to see if that helps since several of your dump files are indicating memory involvement.
    I have personally had experience with memory issues and a (my) machine running apparently fine for months and months, until I decided that I needed to do some video encoding of a bunch of VHS tapes that I had converted to digital format for burning to DVDs. My machine would complete one encoding task, but if I attempt a second without first rebooting, I would get a Blue Screen (thought it was a bad memory leak issue) turned out to be voltage, bumped it up one notch and have never seen a blue screen since.
    Additionally as a matter of best practices you might want to apply a bit of TLC to your hard drive.
    Run the built in Defrag utility at least twice
    and then
    from an elevated command prompt type
    chkdsk C: /R
    answer yes "Y" to the prompt and reboot
    let it complete all five stages and see if finds and fixes any issues.
    Please do not add the /F (fix) switch as the /R (repair) switch already implies the /F switch and is therefore redundant and unnecessary.
     
  15. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again,

    i tried to change the stuff from the BIOS, but didnt know my way around!!
    anyways. i located the manual, and chapter 3 talks about BIOS config.
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA1366/Rampage_III_Extreme/E5246_Rampage_III_Extreme_manual.zip


    i can't really thank you enough guys for taking the time and effort to look into this
     
  16. aboona777

    aboona777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    This is the latest:
    i set something in the BIOS to xmp, which in turn changed some values around. So i hope that's what you asked last time.

    I played a couple of games with no problems (about 30 minutes).

    Later, i got the BSOD while browsing and playing music in the background!!!

    Before you take the time to check the attached minidump and screenshots, would getting a new set of RAM sticks solve this problem?

    Please let me know what you think..

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • xmp.rar
      File size:
      436.1 KB
      Views:
      138
  17. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    194
    Your still getting memory corruption. You need to run memtest on each memory stick. This will test for memory errors to see if this is related to eith a bad stick or a bad slot.
     
    #17 nmsuk, Oct 24, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  18. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Additionally you still have those old drivers loading that I referenced here http://windows7forums.com/blue-screen-death-bsod/73878-blue-screen-when-playing-game.html#post241002 regarding Western Digital External Storage and Acronis True Image. You should probably address those and while you are at it go here http://downloadcenter.intel.com/detail_desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=18713 and update the driver for your Intel Gigabit NIC.
    Still going over your latest dump files with some of the other guys here looking at other suspect drivers.
     
  19. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833

Share This Page

Loading...