BSOD, clean install BSOD again, change to older OS from old CPU = BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Jezza, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. Jezza

    Jezza New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    im brief, bought a new system, ran sweet for first month.

    started getting BSOD until got fed up and did a clean install. was fine for 1 week or so then start BSOD until one day i load windows and it said window 7 configuration data is corrupt please contact support. this is window 7 ultimate 64 bit 1 week after clean install.

    i put my old sytem hardrive with window professional 32 into new system, installed drivers and ran fine for a few days until same symptoms of BSOD memory buffer. now windows 7 black load screen and boom BSOD before window 7 launches.

    ive tried updating bios, ran memtest on ram, i got 1600hmz ram issit correct if it reads 1586? at mobo boot

    Fresh install, again. i open up system, installed ram 4.gb 3.24 usable? is this correct?

    i would dump my files but how do i get to them? the windows wont load on that hardrive. im currently using another hardrive for fresh install
     
    #1 Jezza, Sep 16, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2010
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Hello Jezza,

    attach the .dmp files from C:\Windows\Minidump. To boot to windows, try the repair function booting with your 7 install dvd. Also, from the repair options you can choose cmd -> fixboot, cmd -> sfc /scannow.

    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/7728/troubleshot-startup-problems-with-startup-repair-tool-in-windows-7-vista/

    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/fixing-bootmgr-is-missing-error-while-trying-to-boot-windows-vista/

    Or you can try rearranging sata's so you boot to xp (if it's still working) and then copy the crash dumps from the hard drive with 7. (D:\Windows\Minidump)

    Windows 32 bit cannot utilize more than ~ 3.25.


    I'm not sure, but it's close enough. Are bios timings set correct for the memory sticks, do the sticks match each other (same brand?)?
     
    #2 cybercore, Sep 16, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2010
  3. Jezza

    Jezza New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok hooked it up as a secondary and u may find dumps attached i hope

    ive double checked the dram readings on mobo post and the last 3 readings were 1584 1586 and 1516, all different, its that normal

    i bought both ram sticks together, they came from the same sealed packet and both identical (im assuming) g.skill trident 1600mhz

    right now im running another fresh install with ultimate 32 bit this time heance the 3.24 gb used and not the full 4gb with 64 bit.

    the symptoms i recognise before a random BSOD begins is that windows explorer will crash, firefox will crash, gaming and BSOD will happen randomly after that which would lead into windows boot up and crash until windows wont boot at all and BSOD

    its kinda progresses itself until i fresh install
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 Jezza, Sep 16, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2010
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
  5. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Yep, indeed as TorrentG has spotted your dumps are from May 28 to June 29th 2010, the system identified as:

    Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (2 procs) x86
    Built by: 7600.16539.x86fre.win7_gdr.100226-1909




    ~~~~~~~~

    All your crash dumps point to the same hardware problem :

    WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x124_AuthenticAMD
    PROCESS_NAME: System
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x124_AuthenticAMD_PROCESSOR_CACHE_PRV


    So, my bet would be a) bad ram b) wrong bios/wrong clocks c) a cpu issue. I'll just quote TG:


    Stop 0x124 - what it means and what to try - Windows 7 Forums

    If more bsod's, attach the latest dumps.
     
  6. Jezza

    Jezza New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wanna add the latest 1 but it says no read permission
     
  7. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    115

    You want to add the latest what? Does it say you only have read permission, or you dont even have that?

    Ken J
     
  8. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Jezza, you can change the permissions - right click .dmp -> properties -> security tab.
     

Share This Page

Loading...