BSOD / LOCKUP suddenly no hardware changes

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Bear, Sep 29, 2016.

  1. Bear

    Bear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know what in the world is going on but in the last 24hrs I've had 3 HARD lockups, a bsod ( last night while idle ) , Camtastia Studio crashing , Chrome sites saying flash is not installed, another site on IE said java was not installed. All of this was working fine just the other day. Nothing has changed other then windows updates. I'm attaching my graball file.
    I've done a full avira virus scan, disk cleanup, malwarebytes scan.. nothing, system is clean.
    Amazon Music says flash is not installed in chrome. Even after reinstalling it via adobe it still says the same thing.
    HELP!!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff8008bea78c4, ffffc201ba54afc0, 0}
    
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for win32k.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for win32k.sys
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption
    
    Followup:     memory_corruption
    
    Hi Bear,
    the above bugcheck is caused when data held in the memory cannot be read because either the data or the memory is corrupt. Looking through the dump file I eventually came across a possible culprit:
    Code:
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  CODE_CORRUPTION
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x3B
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  avguard.exe
    
    avguard.exe belongs to Alvira AV suite and I would ask you remove this app and just use the on board Defender (which is probably better actually) as it's very stable.
    Alvira has been known to cause issues from time to time which is why we ask for it's removal.

    Oh and regarding browsers like Chrome, they stopped using flash just recently because of security reasons. Try installing the latest version of Chrome if you don't already have it.
    Chrome Web Browser
    Post back with any new dump files.
     
  3. Bear

    Bear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    for some reason I didn't get a email notice so sorry for the long delay.. anyway.. a windows update came out right after I posted this...
    as did Adobe. I've always heard avira was one of the best? I'm not sure if avira updated, though I know it updates the definition files regularly.
    I also updated nvidia Geforce and driver and now the problem seems to be gone... do you still need me to do the changes suggested?
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi Bear,
    if the issue appears to be gone and your happy using Avira I'd say carry on! :) If issues should re-occur then of course pop back.
     
  5. Bear

    Bear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, stupid thing just did it again.. "system service error" was what it told me... I think it created a log...
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi Bear,
    sorry to hear that, please post it up and we'll take a look.
     
  7. Bear

    Bear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Happened again since the post.. I hope we can figure this out... hard to believe it might be avira when so many friends have the very same AV
     

    Attached Files:

  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff801a8ca7914, ffffc601b20effc0, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption
    
    Followup:     memory_corruption
    
    Code:
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  CODE_CORRUPTION
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x3B
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  avguard.exe
    
    Hi Bear,
    As you can see the dump is similar to your last posting and it could be that your copy of Avira has become corrupted.

    Please use the removal tool and uninstall Avira:
    Avira AntiVir Removal Tool - Download

    Just use the on board Defender for now. Actually Defender is much improved and is almost a straight copy of Microsoft's Server AV.

    Please run these scans so that any corruption within the os will hopefully be repaired:

    File scans
    Right click on the Start menu icon and from the revealed list choose 'admin command prompt'. Type:
    sfc /scannow
    press enter and await results

    In the same command prompt and after the above scan has finished type:
    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth
    Press enter and await results (longer this time).

    If the first scan found files it could not repair but the second scan is successful, run the first scan again using the same command prompt box and this time it should repair the files found

    Use the machine as you normally would and see if a bsod occur's. If it does please post the dump file.

    If after something like 48hrs the machine fails to blue screen then try installing a fresh copy of Avira making sure you right click on the exe and click 'run as admin'.

    Monitor the situation and of course if a bsod occurs please post.
     

Share This Page

Loading...