Can't connect to internet, but can to local network.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by CalvT, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. CalvT

    CalvT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can connect to my router, and the icon shows "Internet Access" and I can access my shared folders. But I can't access the internet. I've got both IE and Chrome and both do not work.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks :cool:
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you showing your network as a Private network? If you have internet access, there is no yellow triangle on the network icon and no red x on the Network and Sharing window?

    When you go to sites, will they just not load, or take a long time? Any error messages?

    You might open a command prompt and enter this line. Copy and Paste if you want.

    ipconfig /all > %userprofile%\Desktop\ipconfig.txt

    Attach the resulting text file using the Paperclip on the Advanced replies. And edit it for personal info if you desire.
     
  3. CalvT

    CalvT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry taking so long in replying.
    The network is down as a work network. On the icon it shows a cable disconnected icon even though it is wireless.
    In chrome, the sites try to load but cannot.
    The ipconfig is:


    Configuraci¢n IP de Windows


    Nombre de host. . . . . . . . . : Jacqueline-PC
    Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . :
    Tipo de nodo. . . . . . . . . . : h¡brido
    Enrutamiento IP habilitado. . . : no
    Proxy WINS habilitado . . . . . : no
    Lista de b£squeda de sufijos DNS: tradelink.local


    Adaptador de LAN inal mbrica Conexi¢n de red inal mbrica 2:


    Sufijo DNS espec¡fico para la conexi¢n. . : tradelink.local
    Descripci¢n . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
    Direcci¢n f¡sica. . . . . . . . . . . . . : E0-91-53-45-1C-37
    DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : s¡
    Configuraci¢n autom tica habilitada . . . : s¡
    V¡nculo: direcci¢n IPv6 local. . . : fe80::8c3d:ab5a:6fe9:b210%16(Preferido)
    Direcci¢n IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105(Preferido)
    M scara de subred . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Concesi¢n obtenida. . . . . . . . . . . . : martes, 12 de junio de 2012 01:13:50 p.m.
    La concesi¢n expira . . . . . . . . . . . : jueves, 14 de junio de 2012 03:58:27 p.m.
    Puerta de enlace predeterminada . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5
    IAID DHCPv6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 283152723
    DUID de cliente DHCPv6. . . . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-03-B1-95-E0-69-95-BE-60-A0
    Servidores DNS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5
    NetBIOS sobre TCP/IP. . . . . . . . . . . : habilitado

    Thanks :cool:
     
    #3 CalvT, Jun 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You show a Default Gateway as a 1.1 number. This is usually your router and the DHCP server will also be that address, but you show a 1.5 for it and the DNS server. Do you have a DHCP server that is different from your Gateway? Do you have more that one DHCP server on your network which is enabled?

    Maybe explaining your network setup would help.
     
  5. CalvT

    CalvT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally solved this! In Internet Explorer - Internet Options - Connections - LAN Settings - The use a proxy server box was checked but with no address or port specified. I unchecked it and everything worked :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...