Changing Background

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by HussainU, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. HussainU

    HussainU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    i work in the IT Department and I have just installed Windows 7 on a laptop, this has laptop has then been put on the domain and been setup accordingly

    I have come accross a problem where i just have a blank screen as the background
    as GP we should all get an image which is copied to all laptops, this was working fine on this laptop when XP was on it but now the image is blank
    if i try to change the image by right click personalise the background wont change no matter what i choose
    Even if i go to a picture in my docs and right click and do set as background nothing happens

    but i can chance the colour of the toolbar at the bottom of the page

    when logging in and out i get the normal Windows theme running

    any ideas???
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Do you know if the graphic driver has been installed or not?
     
  3. HussainU

    HussainU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes all drivers are installed and upto date
    i cant see any drivers not installed under computer management
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    When you burned the DVD, how fast did you burn the iso at? Also when you installed 7 on the laptop. was it an upgrade or a fresh install?
     
  5. HussainU

    HussainU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not burn the DVD so not sure what speed it was burnt at.
    it was a fresh install i did not do the upgrade
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    How old is the laptop?
    Also could you supply the make and model?

    Thankyou
    sorry for all the questions I just need to know certain things about the installation.
     
  7. HussainU

    HussainU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    the laptop is about a year and a half old
    HP Compaq 8510p
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Thankyou.

    Here is the driver download page.

    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DriverDownload.jsp?prodNameId=3355680&lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=321957&prodSeriesId=3355678&taskId=135

    Try installing the graphics driver again.
    If your machine uses an ATI graphics solution use the driver found in the link above( you'll have to use a vista driver).
    If however you use an Nvidia solution, Nvidia write laptop drivers themselves, so you could get the driver directly from them:

    Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers

    I'll be back a little later so please let me know how you got on..:)
     
  9. HussainU

    HussainU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    32bit Vista or 64? nt to sure wich one?


    thanks
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Check your system page found via the control panel (see screenshot)
     

Share This Page

Loading...